Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

MaritaYang

29 Chicago, IL Woman

Woman

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 29–34
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends

My details

Last online
Yesterday – 3:45pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Other
Height
5′ 2″ (1.57m)
Body type
Average
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Islam
Sign
Sagittarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on masters program
Job
Management
Income
Status
Single
Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Bengali (Fluently)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I am a perpetual construction zone.

Identity development is the focus of my life, personally, academically, and professionally. I believe everyone has a narrative they get to live, and I'm in a constant struggle to not be the cat that gets killed (or injured) due to curiosity. I love learning, about anything and everything.

I've lived in a "third world" nation, I've lived on coasts but feel mostly Midwestern, I grew up in the middle of rural nowhere as a superminority, I moved by myself as a teenager to a metropolitan area for college where I knew no one at first. So far, the world is beautiful--the dark places where you can hear your own heart pounding and the loud places filled with your closest friends' uncontrollable laughter. The best part continues to be the incredible people I get to meet.

Reading pageturners, watching online marathons, hiking forest trails, going to NBA/MLB games with family or friends enrich/invade my leisure time. Athleticism, biology and math are forms of art to me, worthy of awe.

A note about religion: Yes, I am Muslim. You might want to compare our OKCupid test answers--they will likely surprise you, even if you are also Muslim. The world I live in is nuanced, fluid and full of strangeness; I am, as well.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Minimizing potential regrets (hopefully). So trying to meet more people, learn more, feel more, breathe more...Academically and professionally, I'm aspiring towards being the clinical psychologist overdue for too many people. It keeps me fairly busy and focused, also allowing me to create a feeling of coherence/direction personally. I currently manage an early childhood education center (I work with babies and little humans, as well as their teachers and parents).
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
sharing and respecting space, emotional and otherwise. Also: dancing.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Based on frequency, how "ethnically ambiguous" I apparently look. It is an exception when someone new approaches me and doesn't first ask, "Where are you from?/What are you?"* Some are amazed I speak English at all. This is why I generally do not enjoy the first part of any introduction.

I'd like to think people notice my eyes or my smile. I honestly don't know yet since people (of all complexions and backgrounds) can't get over not being able to put me in an ethnic box.

*See "My Self-Summary" paragraph 2 regarding what I now study/have made a career.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: I love autobiographies. Started with that of Malcom X when I was in high school and got hooked to people's narratives ever since.

Movies: Basically anything with Robert De Niro (from Heat to Silver Linings Playbook)

Shows: Too.Many. Statistically, I watch at least what you watch.
Right now: The Walking Dead, Orange Is the New Black, House of Cards, The Mindy Project, Jane the Virgin, How To Get Away with Murder. For better or worse, I at some point have marathonned entire series including Breaking Bad, Dexter, Prison Break, and (mostly for the worse) Lost.

Music: Daughter, Interpol, Nirvana, The XX, Lauryn Hill, The Fugees, Atmosphere, Sia, Frank Ocean, Billie Holiday, Nat King Cole, Alex Clare, MS MR, Kendrick Lamar, Andrea Bocelli, Nora Jones, Jose Gonzales

Food: South Asian, Thai, Japanese, Persian, Arab/Mediterranean, Afghani, Mexican, Italian, and some times I just really need 1 cheeseburger or slice of deep dish pizza <3
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Well there really aren't six if I just needed to survive. I wouldn't mind the following if someone were to leave me on an island:
- WiFi
- Water
- Ice Cream
- Blankets
- Friends
- Sunshine
Actually, this may be the perfect vacation.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
efficiency, my purpose on Earth, what I still have to learn more about, the brilliance of Neapolitan Ice Cream (diversity!), how grreat Frosted Flakes really are, tendons and ligaments, fruits and spiderwebs, beating hearts and mitosis, neurons and trees.

Teeth. Yeah I think a lot about those. All of them.
Okay, one in particular that I like a little bit more than the others.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
exhausted from work and just need to decompress... maybe catch up on some shows or call some friends to catch up. Basically staying indoors, away from loud people, cozy and comfortable because I've earned it by surviving the week!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Despite being amazing with children (I work with babies age 6 weeks up to children of age 12) everyday and loving it, I am not sure if I'm personally willing to have a family of my own. I have a better idea than most people of all the work that goes into these early years, and I'm not sure the pros are worth putting my academic/professional ambitions to become a clinical psychologist on the back burner to raise a family of my own. But who knows, right? Just thinking aloud...
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you're not a total tool. < This is how I screen the tools.