Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

MarkW_1963

52 Histon, UK Man

Man

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 40–50
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Yesterday – 9:10pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
When drinking
Drinks
Socially
Religion
Atheism, and very serious about it
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Status
Single
Offspring
Has kids
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Poorly)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Self-summary? I asked a close friend who described me as kind, loyal, trusting, loving, supportive, intelligent, witty, passionate, thoughtful, and responsible. I think he was just being nice.

I'm a jeans and tee-shirt bloke who likes real ale.

I love a good laugh and find Tim Minchin and Sarah Millican particularly funny. I also like 30 Rock, Veep, The IT Crowd, and The Young Ones.

I've been married three times and have two daughters. I don't have issues or emotional baggage.

And I have an opinion about the Oxford Comma...
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I work as an educational researcher and specialise in equality and diversity work and enhancing the student experience (which explains a lot of my answers to the personality questions).

I have two daughters, aged 23 and 9. The older one lives with her boyfriend and my grandson, and the younger one lives with her mother.

I like going to Open Mic nights in pubs around the city where truly talented people perform for free. My brother is a poet who is very much involved in the local poetry / music / art / stand-up comedy scene and I have been able to get to know many creative people. They have inspired me to get involved and to stop simply lurking in the audience.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Wrapping presents and packing suitcases.

Part of my job involves editing an academic journal and nothing gives me more pleasure than correcting typos and grumbling about excessive use of passive voice.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
When you meet me you'll find out...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I used to read a lot more than I do now. Going to university (as a mature student) means that I read text books for fun (sometimes) and fiction is an occasional indulgence. When I do read it tends to be mostly Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, Will Self, and Philip K Dick, amongst others.

I do watch a ridiculous number of movies and while I do like horror and sci-fi quite a lot, I do watch comedy, and even the odd rom-com. If I had to pick an all-time favourite movie it would have to be Monty Python's Life of Brian. My favourite directors are David Lynch, Luc Besson, Tim Burton, Takashi Miike, Quentin Tarantino, and Sam Raimi. And zombies.

I also like watching complete TV series on DVD as I no longer organise my life around the TV Times - Game of Thrones, Firefly, Fringe, Lost, The Big Bang Theory, and anything by Chris Morris and/or Charlie Brooker. I also read books and watch documentaries by Mark Thomas and Michael Moore, and I think that Bill Hicks was a genius who died far too young.

I have a large music collection covering a wide range of genres. My focus changes periodically but I particularly like blues, rock, reggae, and world music. If I had to pick favourites the list would definitely include Pink Floyd, Frank Zappa, Linkin Park (for my inner teenager), The Crystal Method, Public Service Broadcasting and Death in Vegas. I also like contemporary minimalist compsers, particularly Philip Glass and John Adams. There isn't much music that I don't like but I do tend to avoid bagpipes and the W in C&W.

As for food, I try to keep the carb intake low but otherwise I'll eat pretty much anything.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My kids
Music
Movies
Books
My drum kit
My PC / netbook / iPad
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
What to cook for dinner.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Watching a DVD, probably, or watching comedy panel shows like QI, HIGNFY, and Mock The Week. And thinking about which gig I should go to on Saturday.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My second toes are longer than my big toes
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
If you like music and movies and want to chat about them. If you like going to pub gigs for drinks and local performers. If you like cuddling up in front of a DVD with a glass of wine.