Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Martin-in-DC

38 M Washington, DC

My Details

Last Online
Today – 1:29pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 1″ (1.85m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Catholicism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Scorpio, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Other
Income
$150,000–$250,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm fairly new to all of this on-line dating stuff and honestly find meeting this way a little awkward... but here goes...

In terms of "me", I'm very honest and easy going. I like to do just about anything and I'm always up for adventure. I like to travel and don't get bored of airports. I don't play games. I'm very generous and kind-hearted. I stay away from cruel, obnoxious, egotistical people - life's too short to have a mind filled with negativity.

I'm goal oriented and like to think long term, which means I tend to have a basic plan of how I'm going to get to some objective. This doesn't mean that I'm not spontaneous - I actually think that being spontaneous is a lot of fun! Some of my best memories have come from spontaneous decisions - particularly when they involved road trips! :)

I'm a fairly busy person and have a very demanding job, in addition to completing a thesis in economics on the side. Both of these are important to me, but so are relationships and connecting with people so I make time. I try to keep fit - I love trail running and bike practically everywhere I go to the point where I'm thinking of selling my car. I've seen people on the river with kayaks or canoes and would love to try that with someone.

I've travelled and moved around a lot - Canada, South Africa and the U.K. I've been in D.C. for just over a year and have really enjoyed it and would like to call it home.

Me me me,... so now in terms of what I'm looking for and "you" - ultimately, I'm looking for love and happiness but life's an adventure and a journey and I'm happy to play it by ear. I'm looking for someone who enjoys life, is good-natured and has a sense of humour. Someone who takes care of themselves and either has a job or is studying full-time. Someone who has a 'joie de vivre' and can also be spontaneous while pursuing some kind of overall goal would be an added bonus. I would love to meet someone who shares similar interests in sports and the outdoors. I realise that this is pretty general but I find it hard to describe the person I'm looking for,... I think I'll just know when I meet you.

This isn't a very comprehensive summary and it skips over my history, what I do for a living and specifics about what I do for fun. I will fill this in more detail as soon as I get a chance,.... In the meanwhile, any questions you may have are very welcome.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm happy with my life but could always be a little happier if I found someone to share it with.

I work for a large multilateral development organisation and really enjoy it. I love working with developing countries and after a career in the private sector it feels good to be using my skills well,... quite frankly,... for those people who couldn't normally afford them.

In my spare time, I'm either trying to finish my PhD thesis, exercising, travelling, chatting with friends,... or,... in the case or "right now",... trying to think of "what I'm doing with my life" :)
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
...procrastination.,... in fact I think I'll fill this out later....
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
..this one can wait too....
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
My favourite book of all time - Crime and Punishment. The book I'm currently trying to finish - War and Peace, but it's slow going. The book is excellent, it's just finding the time that's difficult.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
In no particular order:
1. friends & family
2. cheese
3. wine
4. the radio (NPR or BBC Int'l)
5. sunshine
6. my bicycle
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
,...unfortunately, I spend an inordinate amount of time thinking about calculus. (For the PhD) But when I'm not thinking of that, I'm either clearing my mind or thinking about random made-up scenarios/thoughts,... I have a pretty good imagination and can keep myself entertained for quite a while. (This last part should also count as my answer towards "the most private thing I'm willing to admit".)
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Lately there has been no such thing as a 'typical Friday night' but activities range from travelling, parties, meeting old friends, entertaining out of town guests, drinks with colleagues, studying
:-( bbq'ing :-) or just chatting with family on the phone.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 27–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating