Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

MatthewA

50 Arlington, VA Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 35–50
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Nov 16
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from law school
Job
Law
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids, and might want more
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
The older I get, the more I'm interested in other people. How do people make decisions about what kind of work to do, whom to marry, or whether to have children. I'm fascinated by the random forces largely that govern our lives. Given that randomness, how do you make decisions about how to spend your time, energy, and money? I've chosen to invest a fair amount of each in my two children, with whom I've built a close relationship.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Practicing tax law, hanging out with my kids playing cards or Rummykub or chess, surfing the internet looking at power laws, chaos theory, and 17th century history. Reading Commentary, the Atlantic Monthly, and City Journal. I also like hiking, bowling, miniature golf, farmers' markets, and, in limited doses, art fairs.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Staying out of (serious) trouble. Grilling things (charcoal, not gas). Figuring people out (most people), and having fun with a wide variety of people.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
People usually don't notice anything about me at first.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
The Black Swan, Fooled by Randomness, Thinking: Fast and Slow, Up in the Air, The Power of Habit, Classic Rock, Indian food, Ethiopian food, sushi, coffee (I roast and grind my own beans), beer (unique, I know).
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
coffee
Lebanese food
My kids
a car (or at least a mule. An air conditioned mule)
the internet (although apparently I did fine without it for the first 30 years of my life)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Why people make the decisions they do. Why the windows in my car go down for no reason (actually, I did figure that one out: low battery voltage). How to help my kids be happy and successful adults. Tax law.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
playing chess with my son, exploring the nuances of high school social networks with my daughter, at a restaurant or bar unwinding with friends, sometimes on a date, or possibly staying late at the office to get some work done so I can dive into the weekend first thing Saturday morning.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I think people's reactions to this question are interesting. The question doesn't ask you to admit something very private; it asks you the most private thing you are willing to admit. I'm willing to admit that I have a 401(k) plan. That's private in the sense that it's not obvious to anyone who sees me on the street and is not a matter of public record, but it's also not intensely private.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You connected with, or have a question about, anything here, or you have suggestions for improving this profile.

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!