Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


35 Washington, DC Man


I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 25–45
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex

My details

Last online
Online now!
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body type
Judaism, but not too serious about it
Capricorn, but it doesn’t matter
Graduated from masters program
Entertainment / Media
Rather not say
Doesn’t want kids
Likes dogs and has cats
English (Fluently), French (Fluently), Spanish (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Here is a random list of things I enjoy:

Going to plays, going to movies (especially at AFI and E Street), singing showtunes (to myself or for an audience), eating food, drinking beer (or something else), reading the New Yorker, talking about recent New Yorker articles, watching quality (or occasionally not-so-quality) television, reading cultural commentary about quality (or occasionally no-so-quality) television, spending time with a good group of friends (which includes a not insignificant number of heterosexuals), GChatting, reading random things on the Internet when I'm supposed to be working, keeping up with Twitter feeds of authors I like (I have a nonsexual crush on Susan Orlean), commenting on the Facebook statuses of people I haven't seen since college.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I grew up in the DC area, and I moved back a few years ago after time spent in Boston and NYC for college + work + grad school + more work. I like DC a lot -- it's home! I'm an only child and am close with my parents, who still live here. But I do get back to NYC every so often to see friends and shows. Love me some BoltBus.

I work as a journalist. On most days, I like it well enough. My job does not define my existence.

I'm very into the arts, particularly theater. I used to act in college and sometimes I miss it. For a while I sang in a chorus here in town (not the gay men's chorus), but it's not quite the same.

I love art museums but don't go to the ones in DC as often as I might like.

I have a season subscription to one of the major theaters in town. Wanna join me for a show?
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Conversation. Getting to know people. Making smalltalk, asking questions. Being interested in people's lives, and not just pretending to be.

Knowing random shit without knowing how I know it. I have, in fact, been on two television quiz shows.

I have an excellent sense of direction.

I sing a mean karaoke. Standards include Tainted Love and Ray of Light (yes).

Also: I'm much funnier in person than I am when writing profiles, I swear. No, really.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That I'm tall and frequently have a loud-ish laugh. Maybe more of a guffaw...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Mostly long form journalism or nonfiction. I'd usually rather read a newspaper than a novel. I'm generally always carrying the latest New Yorker in my bag.

Titles: Going Clear, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down, anything by Sedaris, A Visit from the Goon Squad, Praying for Sheetrock, C Street, Nothing to Envy, on and on...

Movies: Waiting for Guffman, Romy and Michele's High School Reunion, Napoleon Dynamite, The Hours, Vanya on 42nd Street, The Social Network, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (Swedish version), When the Cat's Away...

Music. Not gonna lie: I'm pretty into showtunes. But only the good ones, not the crappy ones. (Sondheim yes! Andrew Lloyd Webber no.) But I also enjoy some of that indie rock stuff that the kids like these days.

I like it when people make mixes for me.

Food: I will eat (and enjoy) pretty much anything you put in front of me, with the exception of most shellfish. Believe me, I have tried to like clams and oysters and such, and I just can't do it. I do enjoy sushi, but only straightforward fish like tuna and salmon. I'll pass on the eel, thanks.

TV: Mad Men. Six Feet Under. Downton Abbey (without pretending it's actually highbrow). Looking. Broad City. Orange Is the New Black. HBO and PBS Documentaries. Girls. The Good Wife. The Amazing Race. Hotel Impossible, Restaurant Impossible. SNL. The Daily Show. Jeopardy! Many delightful shows on the Food Network. (Except Guy Fieri. Never Guy Fieri.)
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
The Internet, fruit juice of some kind in the fridge, my cat, occasional ice cream, Sondheim tunes on the iPhone, and as much as it pains me to admit it... my DVR. I watch kind of a lot of TV, and I've come to terms with it.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Living. The future. Where to go on my next vacation. What I'm having for dinner.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Deciding whether or not to go to bear happy hour. Or conked out on the couch watching Alex Trebek do his thing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Me? Private? Oh no. I'm a sharer.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You're looking for a good time. Interpret that as you will.

Ideally, you like (or at least are not allergic to) cats.