MikeT_ATX
39 Houston, TX
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
MikeT_ATX
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Moved to Houston about a year ago and still loving it. I keep trying to discover new restaurants and cool places around town, and sooner or later I think I'll make it out of the loop too.

My short story is that I have lived all over America (Including Latin America and the US) due to circumstance and work and I'm thankful for what I have discovered along the way. I've come out of the experience blessed with curiosity about the world and others and some interesting perspectives on life.

I really enjoy traveling, and having the opportunity to expand my horizons. Oh, yeah, I have also been known to geek out every so often, so I can talk about sci-fi, internet history and whether Kirk was better than Piccard, if needed. So, you have been warned.
What I’m doing with my life
Currently in one of those life transitions that has me planning for the future, but also focusing a lot more on exercise and diet. A month ago I started Crossfit, and starting to really enjoy it.
I’m really good at
Tech Support, Self-deprecation, grilling and drinking wine. I have also been told that I'm good at debating, but after talking to that person, I convinced them to change their mind.
The first things people usually notice about me
Eyes... They can change color sometimes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love reading and enjoying good food... My taste is very wide in both aspects, so I love to discover new restaurants and authors.
I am trying to get myself back to the movie theaters, but I normally prefer to be out and about when I'm in town.

Let's try to add some more details to what I'm reading:
I tried updating this section with a "currently reading" piece, but I read too much and it kept becoming out of date.
Have read the Hunger Games series and loved the first book, liked the second one and was depressed at the third book... Although they did remind me a lot of Ender's Game, which is probably one of my favorites of all times.
Stieg Larsson's books (Done reading the whole series and currently working my way through the Swedish movies before the American versions come out)
All of Herman Wouk's books. Anything written by W.E.B. Griffin, Daniel Silva, Brad Thor.
I have also read Atlas Shrugged 2 or 3 times already... It may sound weird, but I tend to find too many similiarities to the way people behave lately.

Food:
Steak (I grew up in Argentina, and you can't live there without eating beef for every other meal), Pasta (probably one of my favorite dishes to cook), Pizza, Sushi
On my list of avoid as much as possible are: Cilantro and Celery (what kind of food is this anyways?)

TV - Mostly anything that will make me laugh
The Colbert Report, South Park, Dr. Who, Scrubs, Coupling and Justified
Thanks to the magic of Hulu Plus, I have also gotten into a couple of other TV shows that keep me busy when I need some downtime: The Following, Justified and Hell's Kitchen (when I'm cooking)
The six things I could never do without
My Family, Friends, Kindle, iPad2, laptop and Wine (ok, i love to have wine with family and friends too!)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Wine and Travel... and how to develop a business around both of them so I can do both things I love year round (I think I may be onto something here...)
On a typical Friday night I am
I don't know of typical Friday nights, I may be resting at home with a good book, going out and about with friends to happy hour and catch a band, or just hanging out for dinner... Just like Saturdays!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Ask me any specific question and I will answer (in person of course!)
You should message me if
You love to travel the world and day dream of discovering more about other places and cultures.
More