Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

MoralityMike

28 M Saint Louis, MO

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 11:23pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Strictly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Atheism, and very serious about it
Sign
Pisces, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Technology
Income
$50,000–$60,000
Relationship Status
Open relationship
Relationship Type
Mostly non-monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly), C++ (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm wrong about a lot of things, and currently having fun figuring out what those things are. Several years ago, I became interested in religion and trying to understand what people believe and why. I spent a long time studying the arguments people gave in favor of belief in God and realized that none of them actually worked. I couldn't force myself to start believing in God if there wasn't any evidence that he or she existed. However, I also realized that I wasn't holding my own beliefs to the same level of scrutiny. Like most people, I grew up believing many things, but didn't question them as much as I should have. So I started exploring topics like philosophy, morality, sexuality, and feminism. I found that a lot of my beliefs were wrong. I used to think that women who had a lot of sex partners were somehow less valuable. I also used to think that the gender wage gap might not be because of sexism since the stats I had seen didn't include statistical controls for other possible explanations (but I hadn't bothered looking at the studies which show that the gap remained even after you controlled for all other possible explanations). I like proving myself wrong and learning new things. The universe is an incredibly interesting place, and I never tire of learning more about it.

But I do occasionally take a break from reading. I like cooking, especially when I have people to cook for. I've gotten good enough at finding tasty recipes and then not screwing them up that my friends think I actually have some kind of talent for cooking. I also love going to new restaurants and trying dishes with unique ingredient combinations. Sometimes I play tennis, go biking, or go for a run. I used to do a lot of long distance running and I still sometimes go on a six mile run on a whim. Recently, I have started doing a lot of backpacking. Movies are another thing I like, particularly those that make me think. I often play board games with friends, and especially enjoy Settlers and Dominion. I also do some random stuff, like going to local burns (like Burning Man, but smaller), debating philosophy, and officiating weddings.

In case you're wondering, my friends nicknamed me Morality Mike because at the time I was really interested in exploring what it means to be moral. My views are a little more settled now, so I don't spend as much time thinking about it, but I still try to live a moral life. I try to bring joy rather than pain to those I interact with.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm currently developing software for the Human Connectome Project, which seeks to map the brain's neural pathways. I love my job and it feels very rewarding to be able to contribute in a tiny way to advancing scientific research.

I'm also taking evening classes to deepen my understanding of Neurobiology, as well as some classes on other topics that interest me. I'm looking forward to the glassblowing class I'm taking this fall.
I’m really good at
Listening. I've been told that I'm good at listening and am also very emotionally observant. I'm also pretty good at being honest. I try to say things diplomatically, but I don't pretend to like something if I don't like it, and I don't pretend to be someone I'm not. No matter what I do or say, some people will dislike me. I'd rather be disliked (and liked) for who I am.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Mistakes Were Made (But Not by Me): Why We Justify Foolish Beliefs, Bad Decisions, and Hurtful Acts, Atheism Explained, Dialogues Concerning Natural Religion, and Stranger in a Strange Land.

Movies: 12 Angry Men, Airplane!, Away from Her, City of God, A Clockwork Orange, The Dark Knight, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The Grand Illusion, Milk, Office Space, The Truman Show, A Serious Man, Sherlock Jr., Taegukgi, and Touching the Void.

Shows: The Daily Show, Arrested Development, Star Trek DS9, Star Trek TNG, Penn & Teller: Bullshit!, NOVA scienceNOW, The Office, 30 Rock, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia and Mythbusters.

Music: I absolutely love Tim Minchin's songs, but I like a wide variety of other music too.

Food: Pizza, vegetarian sushi, tapas, and Indian food.
The six things I could never do without
I would have a lot of trouble doing without friends. Life is so much more fun when you have people to share it with. It would also be hard for me to give up using the internet since I spend a lot of my time online (reading blogs, watching videos, listening to podcasts, and chatting with friends). My car would be tough to do without, since I like getting out and doing things and the public transportation system in St. Louis isn't that great. I also think it would be somewhat difficult for me to go without oxygen, water, or food.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Politics, morality, sex, gender, polyamory, and feminism.
On a typical Friday night I am
Some nights I just stay in and read or mess around online. Other nights I go out to dinner with a friend or go to a party that one of my friends is hosting. I host some things too, like game nights or vegan potlucks (I'm not vegan, but a couple of my friends are).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've worn women's clothing before. One night I was hanging out with my friends and we randomly decided to swap clothes. Apparently I look pretty good in sparkly blue pants.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 18–35
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You're interested in one of the things I talk about in my profile and want to converse about it.