MrAye
34 Oakland, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
MrAye
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Summarizing oneself can be a real challenge! My friends describe me as an easy-going guy... I am generally pretty upbeat in most situations, whether on my own, or with good friends for a lively night out or a quiet night in. Generally, I enjoy the company of a close circle of friends.

Being originally from a big bustling city, I absolutely love the buzz of city life and soaking in its energy. Urban excursions, random meanderings, chance discoveries, observing the ebb and flow people and space are my ideas of fun. The Bay remains a bit of an enigma and I am still in the process of discovering it and my place in it - philosophically speaking.

An ideal day could be as simple as lying on the grass on a sunny afternoon under a tree with a good book and dozing off to sleep.

I will travel long distances to eat delicious ice cream.
What I’m doing with my life
I am an architect/planner currently working on affordable housing development at a local non-profit. Outside of work, I enjoy running in the hills (taking in our fantastic geography), meeting up with friends for a game (do you play tennis or badminton?), or catching up with friends (over dinner, drinks, music, etc.). I've also been taking classes to learn the drum set and screen printing to keep keep learning and keep my connection to the creative side.
I’m really good at
Making a killer omelette du fromage
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Amitav Ghosh is one of my favorite authors and Hungry Tide is probably my favorite work by him. Salman Rushdie, Umberto Eco, Murakami are authors I have enjoyed most. The list could go on, but I will stop here.

Podcasts: Avid listener of Radiolab. Robert Krulwich and Jad Abumrad are geniuses for making science and philosophy so personal.

Music by Daft Punk, TV on the Radio, Mike Snow, CSS, The XX, Jal, Indian Ocean, RD Burman. The list keeps changing, though -- I would say its seasonal.

Always up for trying new cuisines and places to eat. Maybe a bit partial to Thai, Indian and Japanese
The six things I could never do without
Book to read
Running shoes
Daily news
Seven hours of sleep
Ice cream
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually out, spending time with friends, watching a movie, having dinner, pub-crawling and sometimes dancing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Hmm....major procrastinator.
More