MrCanela
32 Oxford, UK
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
MrCanela
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Drop me a message and say hello, my mom says I am nice! :)

I like: travelling, meeting people, languages, science, food+wine+cooking, outdoors, sports, mountains, giraffes, bbq+beers, politics, books ... but still, some of my best days were nights.

I do not like: narrow-mindedness, stagnation, velociraptors, pseudo-intellectual omphaloskepsis, the oxford comma, and being hungry. I have a thing for strong minded, driven and interested people. But then ... Who does not?

Born and raised in Munich, I am now based in Oxford after living in France and Spain. I am looking for fun and quality people to hang out with and maybe more.
What I’m doing with my life
make the most of it by trying to learn and do something new everyday.

I like to cook and share a good story with a glass of wine. In my spare time I do sports (climbing, hiking, biking, gym), go out with friends or read. I love dogs, mountains and meaningful conversations. I am constantly curious to discover new things, be it food or languages, or simply travelling and meeting new people. Apparently I am an INTP (not sure how that fits together).

I work in a research centre a bit to the south of here where I do experimental physics/materials science. I met a bunch of amazing people here and I am very happy with where I am heading in my life right now. Looking for someone to share (some of) the way.
I’m really good at
cooking and especially eating
juggling
learning languages
baking real bread
science stuff (?)
procrastination
The first things people usually notice about me
Regularly I get comments on my size ... and dimples.
I was told I am cheeky but actually I feel a bit shy.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favourite colour is blue.

I like books by Herman Hesse and poems by Heinrich Heine ... but I guess everybody does, right? Bla bla bla ... The truth is that I mainly read scientific stuff and I have to force myself to read 'proper literature'. If I get into the mood I really enjoy it.

The last two books I read were 'Fooled by randomness' by Nassim Nicholas Taleb and the next 100 years by George Friedman which are both highly recommendable (but it's no 'real' literature either). My last novel was the 'His dark materials' trilogy by Philip Pullman.

Recently I started a subscription of the The New Yorker which turned out to be a great decision!

I rarely watch TV. I stream a few things over the web which I would never admit publicly.

Music is a wide field. At the moment I am into electro and deephouse (I can send you some tracks if you want) but I enjoy nearly everything that is not main stream pop music. Especially Indie/alternative. Not to forget all the classics like The Doors or Led Zeppelin.

Food? Love it! My recent discoveries were limpets and goose barnakles. Mmmhmm ... and thai food is my all-time favourite!
The six things I could never do without
sunshine
good food with
good friends and
good wine
a smile
hugs
I spend a lot of time thinking about
politics and society, people and their strange ways, internet privacy, velociraptor attacks, food preparations, travel plans (next trip: Belgrade), electron correlation, and obviously women and all the related topics

If I was an animal, I would most certainly be a giraffe!
On a typical Friday night I am
taking a nap before I go meet some friends
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Live is to short for boring socks.
You should message me if
I enjoy optimistic people with goals in their life, people who like to a joke around and are not easily offended. I am looking for an independent women who likes to see the world and travel.

I am most likely not going to initiate messaging any more because online dating distracts me from meeting people in 'the real world' - do you remember that place? So if you think we might get along say 'Hello'. I will answer! That's how easy it is.
More