Myah-tck
27 Corpus Christi, TX
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Myah-tck
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an adventurer, but not a party animal. I live an active lifestyle and enjoy the outdoors. Soccer is my main sport and I play it every week. I’ve paid for the pleasure with a knee injury last year. So this year I got a rowing machine so I don’t have to do running for my cardio. I bike to work and go on camping bike trips. I started fostering dogs: four dogs adopted so far (www.facebook.com/adoptmyfosters). Including the one that actually got returned and came back to me for a while.

I grew up an army brat and enjoyed moving every 3-5 years. It was like an opportunity to reinvent myself every few years. So I’ve caught the wanderlust bug and continue to travel. I once hit 23 countries in 30 days. I feel traveling helps challenge my assumptions and think about things differently. I value being open-minded

I’m straightforward. I’m pretty well read. I read the news daily. I will try out random. Even if I don’t stick with them long term I find a lot of the things open up opportunities. Last year I auditioned for a choir because I thought the experience of auditioning would be cool. Somehow they decided I was good enough to join. I ended up going for 9 months culminating in a trip to sing at Carnegie Hall in NYC.
What I’m doing with my life
I work as a chemical process engineer. I'd like to have an international job. In the future I'll go for graduate school. In a couple of years I'll have the experience to be allowed to take the professional engineering test. Which basically means I'll get a stamp I can put on documents.
I’m really good at
Playing soccer - I play mid-field.

Talking to strangers - last time I was at the airport I met a soil scientist who told me about the different types of iron in the soil and how it is accessible to plants and a Georgia tech student who for some reason was surprised that I knew about the electromagnetic spectrum despite the fact that I told him I was a chemical engineer. Maybe he just doesn't chat science with random strangers enough.

Juggling - only 3 but I figure that's more than most. I only learned because I wanted to juggle on my slackline, but I could never combine the two skills.

Being happy - I think you can find happiness anywhere if you look for it. One of the things I learned while moving place to place.

I'm not good at:
Being able to suggest good restaurants to visitors. I don't eat out enough
The first things people usually notice about me
They seem to notice whatever phase I'm going through. I've been soccer girl, bike girl, Germany girl, American girl, crutches girl, choir girl. People do always notice I'm a girl :) except in Egypt where they were pretty sure I was probably a girl, but still had to ask (I had short hair at the time. See photo of me with Henry B Dead).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books:
The Pirate’s Son by Geraldine McCaughrean
Watershipdown by Richard Adams
Miles From Nowhere by Barbara Savage
Dealing with Dragons by Patricia Wrede
Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Since I read the news about as much as I read books:
nytimes
npr
economist
foreign affairs
C&EN

Movies/TV:
Sherlock
Castle
Stargate
Avatar the Last Airbender
Gotham
Burn Notice
October Sky
Willow
Community
Unconditional Love
Spirited Away

Music:
Radioactive by Imagine Dragons
Take Me to Church by Hozier
Little Lion Man by Mumford and Sons
Smooth Criminal by Michael Jackson
Perfect by Pink
Heavy in Your Arms by Florence and the Machine
Stained Glass Masquerade by Casting Crowns
Classical Gas by Mason Williams

Podcasts:
Death, Sex and Money
Planet Money
Car talk
TED talks

Activities:
Travel
Soccer
Biking
Rappelling
Reading
Hiking/Backpacking
Museums
Botanical Gardens
Swimming
Slacklining
Running (when I’m not injured), so now I'm rowing
The six things I could never do without
Family
Books
Soccer/Health
Travel
Outdoors
Bike
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Social justice, how people try to tailor people to a system rather than trying to tailor the system to people. Related to another concept that operator error is often actually design error.

Planning my next adventure

Dog training

The way our environment shapes our experience.
On a typical Friday night I am
Frantically trying to decide or gathering materials for what I’m going to do with my Little this weekend that she would like! Most fun outings with my little: soda bottle rocket, tie dying shirts, painting, and sandcastle building (Interactive activities rule). Worst outings: botanical garden, Lexington, art museum (confirming that TV is the only thing that entertains 11 year olds with just stuff to look at). A medium outings: playing Frisbee (wind in Corpus=bad aerodynamics).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I love getting postcards.

I love chocolate covered strawberries. I will buy chocolate strawberries at the grocery store even though they are a rip off and also buy plain strawberries and chocolate so I can make my own once I’ve eaten the store bought ones.

One of the most common questions I get asked at work is: How old are you?

I am a middle child
You should message me if
You’re interested in science and politics
You like friendly debates
Du sprichst Deutsch
You value a healthy lifestyle
You like to read and can suggest a good book. Or have read any of the books I listed as favorites.
You think that living abroad for a time would be pretty cool

I’m generally looking for a more serious relationship. Not rushing into anything, but I’m paying a little more attention to how someone might be a good fit longer term.

Just FYI - I have two non-negotiable deal breakers:
- Smoking - includes cigarettes, cigars, pipes etc.
- Being anti-gay
More