Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


30 M Pacific Grove, CA

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
6′ 3″ (1.91m)
Body Type
Strictly anything
Agnosticism, and somewhat serious about it
Capricorn, and it’s fun to think about
Graduated from masters program
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Likes dogs
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly), Other (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a poet/professor/part-time hospitality serf with a quick wit, a slow fuse, and a constant commitment to wonder and joy. I'm a Peninsula native (CV/PG), but I lived in Tacoma, Boston, Pittsburgh, Oakland, and SF for 10 years (plus some brief world travels) before coming home to roost in Smallville.

I follow my family's ancestral Scottish motto: "Mean well, speak well, and do well." I also support Black Beauty's mother, who once said: "Do your best and leave the rest; 'twill all come right, some day or night." For faith, I'd rather believe in the Something that Might Be than the Nothing that Seems to Be. I'm a pacifist, a romantic, a doubter, a seeker, a shameless empowerer, and I will sacrifice everything before doing you harm.

Activity-wise, I love exploring the wilderness (hike with me?), watching movies (cuddle during, then analyze afterward?), inappropriating board games (wood for sheep?), supporting friends and family (I'll love yours if you love mine?), learning, laughing, loving, and living. (And remembering what Ian Malcolm said: "Life finds a way").

Also, let's try some better definitions for those "Details":
-Ethnicity: single malt
-Height: 4'27"
-Job: 20th book of the OT, ignoring Maccabees
-Relationship Type: Serif
-Pets: lightly at first, then with increasing pressure
What I’m doing with my life
Melting into summer vacation after my first year as a college professor. My summer "to do" list currently contains 20 books, three day-hikes, two manuscripts-in-progress, a roller-coaster or ten, and, hopefully, some face-to-face, heart-to-heart, and skin-to-skin time. (Bonus points: I have no roommates!)
I’m really good at
making people laugh and feel safely empowered by their differences. I'm a liberal/feminist/LGBTQetc-ist/humanist (although Joss said it best []), and the idea that rama lama lama ka dinga da dinga dong just naturally goes together with shoobop sha wadda wadda yippity boom de boom is fine and dandy with me.

I'm also good with my hands.
The first things people usually notice about me
One of my students this semester said my best attributes are "enthusiasm, compassion, and honesty." And my best friend added "fiercely loyal, sexually liberated, great taste in scotch." So what else do you want to see?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I'm an omnivore. If it tastes good, I'll eat it; if it doesn't, I'll still probably eat it.

Authors: Robert Hass, John Steinbeck, Norton Juster, Bill Watterson. I'm currently reading Louise Penny and Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

Music: Beatles for the up days, Nick Cave for the down days, Bowie for the rest. Also Jack White, RHCP, Girl Talk, Charles Ives, Felix Mendelssohn, Don Ellis, Enter the Haggis, Bela Fleck, GN'R, Chanticleer...

Film: Yes please.

TV: Firefly, M*A*S*H, Doctor Who / Torchwood, The West Wing, Buffy/Angel, Sherlock, Coupling, Arrested Development, Middleman, Star Trek, Python, Top Gear, Red Dwarf, BSG, The Walking Dead.

Games: Settlers of Catan, Apples to Apples (& Cards Against Humanity!), The Game of Real Life, billiards, bowling, bocce.

Food: see line 1.

Drink: Scottish beer; dark rum; di Saronno, Glenmorangie Nectar d'Or. Sue me, I'm a liquor snob.
The six things I could never do without
1. The desire, if there are stars, to stare at the stars.
2. Leonard Cohen's voice singing "There is a crack in everything; that's how the light gets in."
3. Hugs that won't let go.
4. Friends & family that won't let go.
5. 8 hours per night.
6. Laughter, particularly in the face of reality.

(Bonus 7: the certainty that, someday, I will be owned by a dog.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
. I also spend a lot of time thinking around, and under, and over, and beside. Am I trying to preposition you? Perhaps.
On a typical Friday night I am
My Friday nights are generally bigger on the inside.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Six times a year, I don a tuxedo and attend a private club devoted to the study of Sherlock Holmes. It's kind of brilliant.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 25–35
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating
You should message me if
you defy expectations, believe you're beautiful when I tell you it's true, and prefer memories to regrets.

Or if you agree with Calvin and Hobbes that "verbing weirds language."

Or if you like this poem called "Prayer" by Galway Kinnell, which, if I ever get a tattoo, will be my tattoo: "Whatever happens. Whatever / 'what is' is is what / I want. Only that. But that."

Or if you wish this prompt said "massage" instead of "message," because I will if you will.

But most especially if the thought of spending any significant portion of your life with jokes like "Instead of lifting weights, I started lifting the dictionary, and now I have amazing definition" doesn't send you screaming for the hills.