Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

NYLondongirl

64 F Jamaica Plain, MA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 28
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid, but doesn’t want more
Pets
Has dogs and dislikes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Fluently), Greek (Fluently), Italian (Fluently), Russian (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a lively bundle of interesting contradictions: equally happy in the great cities of the world and in tiny coastal villages (just not in suburbia or far inland), equally English and American, sophisticated and childlike (not -ish, never fear), active (former dancer) and contemplative (successful writer). Love dogs, dislike cats. Love boats, hate motorcycles. Believe that chemistry alone is not enough for a successful relationship, but without it, all the common interests in the world won't suffice to compensate.

If you're a tall, lean, well-educated man on or near the coast--any coast (I've lived on the Pacific and both sides of the Atlantic)--and the inscrutable metrics here (what is that 'enemy' thing?) seem promising, I'd like to hear from you. Sorry, but I won't reply to anyone who has not posted a photo and answered at least some of those infernal questions! I've made the effort and so should we all, the better to know ourselves and each other. Also, I must confess that I am not a fan of facial hair, except on my dog.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I write and teach writing (at a college and grad school) for a living, and find both callings very rewarding, but I'd dearly love to work a bit less and travel more--with the right companion. I'd also like to devote more time to causes I care about, chiefly abused and abandoned children and animals. Maritime history and old ships are also enduring passions of mine.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Writing, dancing, singing (have recently sung both cabaret songs and sea chanteys in public--not at the same time), communicating in multiple languages, reading people (and animals) and understanding what they need. I'm also an excellent and creative cook.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My height and carriage--I'm very tall and people often ask if I am or was a dancer, which is a surprising but lovely thing to hear.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
My taste in all things is wildly eclectic and (almost) all-embracing. I have a deep love of classical music, but enjoy almost any other kind except country and sentimental pop. I read the New Yorker and the FT regularly, plus a lot of narrative nonfiction and poetry (both of which I write and teach). Like most kinds of food except Indian and fried things. Prefer serious theatre to musicals, but adore Sondheim. Most of my favorite movies were made before I was born, but the more recent (or less old) "Don't Look Now" and "Le Grand Meaulnes" still haunt my dreams.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Taking 'things' literally (so not including indispensable living beings), I'd have to say the sea, family photographs, certain old letters, a valid passport, manuscripts of my work, Zippy (the toy monkey I've had since I was three) and chocolate.

As for the BIG things (okay, the sea is a very big thing), I could not live without art, music and literature of the highest standard, regardless of the mode of expression.

Living beings are not things, but since so many people here include them in their lists, I must add that I am daily thankful beyond words for my extraordinarily wonderful son and my zany little terrier (a rescue with a terrible story). In different ways, both have taught me to love unconditionally and live fearlessly.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
...what the future will bring and my next writing project(s).
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
...out with friends, trying a new restaurant, at a concert, gallery-hopping, strolling along the waterfront in Boston or on Cape Ann, or just romping with my dog. As often as possible, I'm on the train to New York.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
What an oxymoronic question! If it's private, then it's not for revealing here, right?
I’m looking for
  • Straight guys only
  • Ages 48–68
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
...you think we might be intrigued by each other and are, as I said above, tall, fit, well-educated, on or near the ocean, and preferably not fuzzy-faced. Sorry, but we all like what we like..! I cannot understand why so many men who meet NONE of these criteria write to me and press me to set aside my clearly stated preferences. I would never expect a man who likes young, petite blondes to give me the time of day, and I would not waste my time or his writing to him. Life is too short for such exercises in futility.

Also, my current zip code is irrelevant, while my username is not. I am putting my house on the market in late May and am thinking seriously about moving back to New York this summer. If you live there or anywhere on Metro North, that's a huge plus.

One last thing--if I'm to be completely honest, I'd be highly unlikely to form a serious relationship with anyone who is not a mainstream Christian by upbringing, if not by active practice.