Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Neil-Hoggarth

47 M Oxford, UK

I’m looking for

  • Women who like men
  • Ages 30–60
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Oct 22
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Pisces, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
$60,000–$70,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm an computer professional who still has fun with inventive and elegant technologies, but is increasingly disenchanted with the day-to-day grind of "IT support", and is seeking to have as much fun as possible outside of work. I want to seize the moment, live life to the full, and I'm looking for friendship and romance with a woman who would like to share it with me.

My interests include:

Walking and hiking - I have walked several UK National Trails end-to-end in recent years, including the Thames Path, the Cotswold Way, and the Hadrian's Wall Path; explored a number of other waymarked long-distance routes in stages, including the Oxfordshire Way, the Wychwood Way and Shakespeare's Way; I'm out most Sundays with the Oxfordshire Weekend Walkers group; and in summer 2011 I undertook the Hero Walk, a 26 mile (42 km) sponsored walk from Avebury to Stonehenge, in aid of Help for Heroes.

Cycling - I took up cycling a couple of years ago. I'm becoming a capable cyclist (I and three friends did the 140 mile Sea-to-Sea cycle route in four consecutive days last summer), but I'm not a lycra-clad road-racer or a technical mountain biker - quiet country lanes, good tracks, and bridleways are more my style. Preferably with a couple of nice pub or tea-shop stops along the route! Like walking, cycling a great way for me to get out and about, get some exercise, explore the countryside, and socialize with friends.

Beer and pubs - in my spare time I'm actively involved with the Oxford branch of CAMRA (the Campaign for Real Ale). I've currently managed extract myself from committee responsibilities, but in the recent past I've been the branch chairman, and have also previously served as branch secretary and social secretary. I manage a bar at the Reading CAMRA Beer Festival, and help organise Oxford CAMRA Beer Festival.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Seeking some balance, a rich variety of activities and interests, and happiness. I made the mistake of concentrating too much on my career during my 20s and 30s, to the exclusion of other important aspects of life, and defined myself too much in terms of my job. The job turned sour a few years ago, which left me wondering what the point of it all was. So now I've broadened my horizons, don't define myself by any one aspect of life, have an active social life outside of work, and seek make the most of any and all opportunities that present themselves.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Listening. Problem solving. Planning and preparedness. Kindness and gentleness. Long-distance hiking.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I don't know - why not meet up with me, and then help me out by giving me some suggestions!?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I read and watch a lot of science fiction and fantasy. My favourite book is Arthur C Clarke's The City and the Stars. I like Iain Banks (both with and without the "M" middle initial), I love Terry Pratchett's Discworld. For a complete change of pace, I'm currently enjoying reading F Scott Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby.

I don't watch much television at the moment, though I still avidly follow Doctor Who. I've whiled away many an hour watching Star Trek episodes over the years, I'm a big fan of 1990's science fiction arc show Babylon 5, and love everything created by the awesome Joss Wheadon (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, and Firefly).

Favourite movies: It's A Wonderful Life, North by Northwest, the films of the Coen Brothers, anything by Tim Burton.

In the last couple of years I've developed a taste for live theatre. I went to several open-air Shakespeare productions last summer, and I love the Creation Theatre's energy, enthusiasm and imaginative approach of using interesting venues.

I have a quite broad taste in music: early Beatles, Simon and Garfunkle, 80s pop, rock, folk, classical. Currently listening to the Killers a lot. I like soft jazz for background music.

I enjoy fine dining, preferably in good company. I'm fond of gastro-pubs, Italian cuisine, and spicy foods (Mexican, Indian, Thai, etc) - though I'll give anything a try. I like baking treats for friends, and my signature "dish" is oatmeal cookies with toasted pecans and cranberries.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Outdoors: the fresh air, the exercise, the tranquility, the chance to really see the world in detail rather than rush past it. I love the British countryside in all its green glory - the mountains, streams and waterfalls, the rivers and lakes, the fields and woods and rolling hills - and I couldn't do without spending a significant part of my spare time there.

Blue skies: leaden overcast weather gets me down - I don't need it to be warm, and I don't mind the odd rain shower, but I do need a nice crisp, clear day with blue sky from horizon to horizon every once in a while to lift my spirits.

Good pubs: I'm passionate about traditionally brewed and served "real ale" (beer that hasn't been pasteurised, filtered, or had extra gasses pumped into it to fizz it up). And real beer needs real pubs, with a publican who knows how to care for it, along with an enthusiastic clientele to drink it. I'm a frequent drinker, but it is about quality and variety rather than quantity, and I'm also very much a "social drinker" - if I'm going to have a drink then I like to do it in good company.

People: I am by nature somewhat introverted, quiet and reserved, and at one point in my life I let those tendencies dominate my behaviour too much - becoming solitary and isolated, which led to loneliness and melancholy. While digging myself out of that hole, I came to realize and value the importance of human contact and the social side of life.

Challenges: my first parachute jump, the week-long holiday which I spent walking the Thames Path from Oxford to London, cycling across northern England from sea-to-sea, walking a marathon distance in a single day for the first time. I'm not conventionally competitive, but I do love to push myself (or be pushed by friends!) and to excel at the things that I do.

A sense of fun: I like roller-coasters. I like splashing about in water. I like to run occasionally, just for the sheer exuberance of it, and to feel the wind in my hair. When I pass a playground I feel the pull of the swings, the seesaw, and the roundabout. I think that I'm at my happiest, most engaging, and most sociable when I can relax, let my guard down, and let some playfulness into my life.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
In a cosy pub, chatting with friends and colleagues from work.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You are a woman who would enjoy some culture, good drinking and dining, or outdoor adventures in the company of a man who is gentle, considerate, active and fun-loving.

Or if you're the sort of woman who recognises the phrase Carpe diem, and seeks to live by it!