Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Nigelladama

62 F Portland, OR

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 8:51pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 4″ (1.63m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Monogamous
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Has dogs
Speaks
English, Albanian (Poorly), Farsi (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Still pretty new to Portland. I like art, music, books, movies, plays, dogs, gardens, trees, wild and windy shores, unfancy travel, farmers markets, and Scrabble. I like men who make me laugh (although I do a good deal of that on my own), think about big things, notice the small things, and value kindness.

I was born in the Sacramento Valley, up against the foothills of the Sierras. I love the mountains. Used to ride a horse everywhere -- you could pretty much sum up my youth as horseback riding and reading. I went to Ohio for college and wound up staying in Cleveland for the next 30 years. I moved here in Sept. 2012, a year after my second marriage ended to live near my daughter and her babies.

The men I'm attracted to combine intellect, humor, tenderness, and curiosity. You have to love the written word -- I'm a writer and make my living at it! I write about travel and science for magazines, trying to make the complicated guts of the world fascinating. I just finished a book about the life in the soil -- just so you know, there are a zillion microbes busily sequestering carbon under your feet. This is my third book. The second was on the New York Times bestseller list for a week.

My life is good. I've made an amazing number of new friends here in Portland and almost don't miss my great, hilarious, brilliant friends back in Cleveland. I've dated more in the last year than in my whole life. Looking for that sweet spot in the Venn diagram where chemistry and compatibility overlap. I would ultimately like a partner again, a sweetheart and lover and boon companion. Someone who enjoys a community of friends and family, who likes putting together great meals and eating/talking/laughing/exploring big ideas with others. Someone who doesn't need me around all the time, but who feels life is richer with me in it.
What I’m doing with my life
Looking for new things to write about. Learning the city and getting into the countryside. Training my dogs.
I’m really good at
Listening. Noticing. Writing. Deadheading (watch out).
The first things people usually notice about me
Who knows? I was sitting with a male friend at a bar last year and another guy walked by and said, "You the man! She's gorgeous!" But honestly, I think he was pretty drunk. Or maybe I paid him to say that and then forgot.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I like these authors: Richard Russo, Margaret Drabble, Per Petterson, Ann Patchett, Michael Chabon, Dickens, George Eliot, Jonathan Lethem, Tracy Kidder, Michael Pollan., Richard Ford, Alice Munro, Colum McCann. I could go on and on.

These publications: The New Yorker, the New York Times, Discover, the Atlantic.

These TV shows: Jon Stewart and Colbert, Louis CK, Doc Martin, The Tudors, Downton Abbey, Foyle's War, and a string of old shows set in high schools which had great writing and tough girls: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Freaks and Geeks, Veronica Mars.

These movies: A Separation. Winter's Bone. Forty Year Old Virgin. Many more, just can't remember the names.

These musicians/singers: Nellie McKay, Florence and the Machine, Springsteen, Chronos Quartet, Lyle Lovett.
The six things I could never do without
My two dogs -- they shepherded me (pun intended) through a bleak stretch and I love them. That leaves four more things: my daughter, my friends, my library card, my iphone. Oh, and I love my little house in inner SE.
On a typical Friday night I am
I don't even have a typical Friday morning. I'm often unaware that it IS Friday. That's what happens when you're a freelancer.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I groan inwardly when I hear the word "barista."
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 52–64
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
I'm not interested in anyone who lives outside of Portland or who's under 50.