Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

OaklanderJames

30 M Oakland, CA

My Details

Last Online
Aug 16
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Other
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Other, but not too serious about it
Sign
Pisces
Education
Graduated from law school
Job
Law
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I am a kind hearted giver who often puts others before himself. I love the outdoors and try to go on a hike or get out in to nature at least once a week. I am a hard worker and while I enjoy my job and the people I work with, I live for my free time and being with the ones I love, my birth family and my chosen family (friends). I love to laugh and you will almost always see me with a smile on my face.

I am forever inquisitive which is really a fancy way of saying I can be a huge nerd who constantly thirsts for new and different knowledge (get ready, I ask a lot of questions). Much like everyone else on here, I love to travel but do not do it enough. Both money and life can get in the way of big trips, but that does not stop me from exploring the world on a day or weekend trip as frequently as possible. I love live theater, especially smaller local theaters. The Marsh is easily my favorite.

I recently got into photography and though I am far from being very good at it, I find it to be an addictive and awesome hobby. I love writing and want to write a book. Problem is, I have no idea what to write about but until then I write a lot for a few different blogs (both my own and ones I am paid to write for).

There is lots more but let's be honest, the whole getting to know someone thing is much better in person.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Trying to get the most out of it (or the less philosophical answer, I am a lawyer by trade).
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Making people feel comfortable. I can get along with most people most of the time.

Getting excited over small stuff and finding reasons to be optimistic and happy.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My smile, probably due to the fact that I am smiling the majority of the time.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Reading: I read a ton at work and tend to stick to short form in my free time. Either collections of short stories (David Sedaris books are my favorite) or essays/articles. I do enjoy mystery/suspense type books as well. In the end, I much prefer to write than to read.

Music: I love music and love discovering new music. Grew up on hip hop, ventured into Jazz and Blues on my own, was exposed to EDM through a friend and lots of other kinds of music through festivals. I know it is rather cliche, but I like most music other than Country.

I have just found the first hole in Spotify (which, btw, is the greatest creation EVER). There is no Beatles music!! First time Spotify has let me down, and its a big letdown...

TV: The West Wing (the perfect world), The Wire (the real world), The League (the laugh till you piss your pants world).

Movies: Not a huge movie fan but can appreciate well made movies and especially movies that make you think. I do really love a good comedy movie now and then as well.

Food: I love trying all different kinds of food. Anything from Ethiopian to a burger and fries could be on my menu. There is really very little I will not try when it comes to food.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Music
The outdoors
My camera
Coffee
My iPhone (sad but true)
My nephew
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
I spend a lot of time thinking and writing about social justice issues in America. Much of that is on race and privilege issues because those are what hit close to home for me but almost any social justice issue will get in my brain for significant periods of time.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Normally surrounds a good meal. If it was a long week, a nice home cooked meal with a movie or show I recorded. Otherwise, dinner out in SF with my friends followed by hanging out in some fashion at some location.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I moved back in with my parents because they were having financial hardships and my mom has some major health issues. I can't afford to pay rent and help with their mortgage so living at home it is, plus I spend a lot of time taking care of my mom. After all my parents have done for me in my life, I can deal with the negative stigma and less than stellar situation in order to be there for them.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–35
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You want to.