Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Of_the_Valley

26 Washington, DC Woman

Woman

You might like

I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 25–29
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
May 21
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 5″ (1.65m)
Body type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Virgo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on masters program
Job
Other
Income
Status
Single
Type
Offspring
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Chinese (Okay), French (Okay), Swahili (Poorly)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm from the DC area originally and back for grad school. I’ve spent most of the last 12 months in Burundi/the DRC, so I'm slowly adjusting to life back in the US.

I'm enjoying the hell out of having hot showers again, and snuggling with my cat.

I love it when people are passionate about things. Even if it's not my thing, I love responding to another person's genuine enthusiasm.

Also, I'm a pretty big geek, and I'm proud of it.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I have my last semester of grad school to complete come fall, but a fairly open summer before that.

Post grad school is a big unknown. I suppose it will all be about whatever job opportunities emerge. I would like to continue to work abroad at some point, although being abroad for the majority of the last twelve months makes me a little eager to stay in DC for the time being.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
I really enjoy cooking, and 9 out of 10 housemates enthusiastically enjoy the results.

I think I’m a strong writer, although I haven’t written much outside of academic papers and professional reports in the last year. I miss creative writing.

I like biking, although I don’t know what level I would have to be in order to qualify as being ‘really good’ at it. The training wheels came off a good two decades ago and I haven’t crashed or fallen off in at least 8 years. That must earn me at least an ‘adequate’ skill level. I also bike commute through the winter, so that has to count for something (insanity, maybe).

I must be good at other things...

Oh, I can marathon a TV show like none other, and I’m good at taking naps with my cat.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm not sure. I don't normally ask.

...I just polled my friends. "Your walk" was one, but I'm not sure what that means. "Your smile." I'm so buying that friend a drink. "Your terrible hair cut." Well, to be fair, we were only 8 years old then.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: The Little Prince, The Giver, Catch-22, anything by Tolkien, Ocean at the End of the Lane, The Moral Imagination, and so many I can't even think of right now. These days, though, I'm mostly reading nonfiction. I somehow never read most of the scifi classics, so I'm also slowly making my way through those.

Movies: Star Wars (the original trilogy), The Princess Bride, Robin Hood: Men in Tights, Toy Story, Sometimes in April.

TV: I’m pretty behind on current TV at the moment, since I spent most of the last year without a TV or decent internet. All-time favorites: Doctor Who, Farscape, Firefly, and The West Wing (seasons 1-4). I’m working through The Wire now, and I’m liking that a whole lot.

Music: Right now, Rogue Valley, Radical Face, Of Monsters and Men, and The Black Keys. I'm also a fan of older stuff (like Arlo Gutherie, Simon and Garfunkle, and The Beatles) and I love finding new things to listen to.

Food: Sushi is always a favorite; were cost and environmental sustainability not a concern, I'd probably eat sushi several times a week. I’m pretty enthusiastic about food in general, so there is very little that I actively dislike.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1. Music
2. New socks
3. Green vegetables
4. A toothbrush
5. A good book
6. I was going to say my cat, but I've already mentioned her two times and I don't want to seem like a crazy cat lady. So...tabletop games.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
A good bourbon.

And mass atrocity prevention.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
I'm just as happy to go out to a bar as I am to stay in. It's all about the people you're with -- and the food you're eating. I think there is a time and place to make plans and a time and place to be spontaneous. I enjoy getting to look forward to going to a baseball game or a concert, but I also love deciding to go to an outdoor summer movie an hour before it starts.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Well, judging by my profile, I seem to have a bit of a preoccupation with food. That’s to be expected, I suppose; I come from a foodie family.

Ok, that’s not particularly private. Let’s settle for something slightly embarrassing. I’m a little mortified when I have to tell any non-Whovians my cat’s name. I got her when she was barely 4 weeks old, abandoned and malnourished, and thought she needed a super fierce name. It was uncertain at the time if she would survive, although it was clear that she was a fighter, and she was gaining strength every day. I also thought she was a male kitten. So, I named her Stormageddon. Actually, I named her Stormageddon, Dark Lord of All. I somewhat regret that. When I take her to the vet, I tell them her name is ‘Stormy,’ but I actually find that more shameful because that is a shit name.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You made it this far and find any of this interesting. DFTBA.