Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

OkieinDC

59 M Murfreesboro, TN

My Details

Last Online
Today – 8:36am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
Sometimes
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Sagittarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Management
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Has kids, but doesn’t want more
Pets
Has dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Afrikaans (Poorly), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Kind and considerate. Moved from the Mid West to DC Metro and then to Tennessee. Still have the perspective that a man should open a door for a woman. Just down to earth and really hoping to find the same.
What I’m doing with my life
I am conservative leaning slightly to moderate in my views. I grew up on a farm in Kansas, went to college, and then went into the Army. I did get out of the Army for a period of time where I was a police officer, among other things, traveled some, till I came back in during Desert Shield, served the rest of my time and retired. I enjoy a good meal out on the town, from sea food to steak to Mexican to Italian to just about anything but Indian. I also enjoy parks, museums, and just about anything with the right person in the right mood.

I prefer more country style living than being in the heart of a large metro area like the greater DC area (where I was and escaped... 3 hour in traffic commuting was just to much). I have two girls in their teens that still live with me (1 is in high school, and other is just out of high school). I also have a small heard of animals, both dogs and cats. So, if you are allergic to cats or dogs, there could be a problem. I enjoy Civil War re-enactment because it allows me to get away from the trials and tribulations of 2014, and besides, most of my Great Grand Fathers and their brothers and cousins faught in the Civil War (Yankees all of them). I am of Welch, Scottish, and German ancestry (actually, at the time, it was Prussian...though the area they were from is now in Russia as the results of 2 World Wars). The Welsh family, my sir name, was more or less "invited" to come to the colonies under questionable circumstance where they changed the spelling of the name from Welsh to more Anglo looking and sounding. It was something about disagreements with the King of England and leading rebellions (3 in 20 years) against the English Crown trying to re-establish Welch independence. Scottish side had the same problem in 1746 (wrong side of the Jacobite rebellion....English Crown took all their land, and was going to send them to prison so they left Scotland. You can tell, I am very much into history, and only poor historians fail to learn from history. I also play the bagpipes (guess it is the Scot coming out) and love the feeling when you become a part of the instrument, that you are one with it (only a musician would understand this). And, I am very much a handy man. Almost want to say I can fix anything with nothing. I also refinish furniture. Love scrounging around and finding old beat up furniture with the potential to be beautiful if refurbished. My next endeavor is a china hutch. I don’t drink, thus I am more or less out of the bar scene (exception would be an Irish bar with live Irish music on St Paddy's day). I have been told that I am a very good person, have charm in my own way, loving, and considerate. I would much prefer someone that knows some thing about many things (and willing to learn more), than someone that knows a whole lot about one thing and very little about anything else. Now speaking of work, I am good at what I do, and when at work, I work hard. I do have a high work ethic. But as stated before, I try very hard to leave work at work. Life is too short to be work centered. The Dutch have an expression, Americans live to work, but we [Dutch] work to live. I agree with the Dutch and practice this philosophy. So, there we have it, I am looking for someone with some smarts, can laugh, has social skills, is affectionate, is pleasing to the eye but beautiful is in the eye of the beholder, can laugh, and is well grounded when they wan to be.
I’m really good at
Just about anything I put my mind to.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Love science fiction books. Also an amature studier of the American Civil War. Music likes vary from clasical to rock to country (no rap).
The six things I could never do without
coffee, coffee, coffee, coffee, coffee, and coffee...now for real, my kids, nice people, beauty of nature, hope for the future, friends, and then hopefully the most kind and beautiful person to share life with.
On a typical Friday night I am
Lately it has turned into an "I am exhausted from work" night. Hopefully this will change into a go out for dinner night, or time for a good movie night.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Why on earth would anyone reveal their "most private thing" on the internet?
I’m looking for
  • Straight girls only
  • Ages 50–63
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
If you are down to earth and not into putting on airs (had enough of that in DC), and able to realize that it’s the small things that truly make one happy.