Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Operaman525

58 M Falls Church, VA

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 10:12pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Other
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and laughing about it
Sign
Taurus, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids, but doesn’t want more
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Italian (Okay), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
My High School nickname was Gentle Ben. To this day, almost 40 years after graduating, when I go back to visit, people approach me on the street with some variation of "Hi Ben!". It's nice to be remembered. If you don't know who Gentle Ben was, you are undoubtedly too young for this ride.

I am a semi retired Opera Singer, selling Jeeps to pay the rent. I sing with a major, Grammy winning, Symphonic chorus in DC, which allows me to keep the voice in shape. As for the rest of my shape, it's been better. At one point in my life, in the not too distant past, I was in the gym 6 nights a week for 3 hours at a time. My body building days are behind me. I was in the best shape of my life, but found that that life was sorely lacking. Time to go back in moderation.

In My Senior year in HS was All State in Football, Track and Chorus. I played college football at Bucknell University and 4 years of semi pro in Philadelphia. My main form of exercise now is squash.

I was a History and English major in college with a voice minor. I began an MBA, but realized that I wanted nothing more than to sing, so I pitched it all and had a very successful opera career that lasted 12 years. I lived and sang in Austria in the '80's, sang in England, France and the States, was hailed "an absolute marvel" for my NY debut, sang with Pavarotti, who became a friend and is missed. In 1992 my son Cal was born. I was on the road 8 months out of the year then, which, in my eyes, was unacceptable. I needed to be there for him, and later, his sister.

My dream for them is to grow into amazing adults, who are un afraid to reach out, with both hands, to grab onto that which is new and exciting and make it their own.
What I’m doing with my life
I am working on a novel, and a history of my family. I'm putting together a collection of my poetry, hoping to one day see it published.

I'm seeking my great love. Is she out there? Who knows. It's nice to dream. Here we are, arbitrary lovers, adrift on a Freudian life raft, seeking answers we may never find.
I’m really good at
Expressing my feelings. Having said that, there are some very beautiful and accomplished women on this site, made less so by their shallowness. Not saying you all are, but some of you need to perhaps reevaluate some aspects of your thinking. Not being critical, just lending a helping hand.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love historical fiction. Perhaps my favorite book of the genre is The Cosgrove Report: Being the Private Inquiry of a Pinkerton's Detective into the Death of President Lincoln.

Yes, that's the title and I could read it over and over again. Also, anything written by William Martin, his latest being The Lincoln Letter. I also love a good mystery.

I am currently re-reading Bleak House and To Have and Have Not.

Regarding music, I am all over the map. My parents were musicians. Mom was a classical violinist and Pop was a Jazz drummer. I was raised listening to, and developing a love for both. As a child of the '60's, I discovered rock music on my own, and as the '70's rolled around, so did Funk. I love it all, except country and rap. I even like some go-go.

Now, for TV. I own one, but it's in storage. Long story there. I watch on my iPad. Love British police drama...Midsomer Murders, Inspector Lewis, etc. Refuse to miss an episode of Downton Abbey. Can't wait for the new season. I love the History Detectives and Antiques Roadshow. Discovered last night the new NBC show Revolution. It is amazing.

Movies... I love Chariots of Fire. Will watch it as often as possible. Think Across the Universe was amazing. Love good old fashioned noir. I suppose I could go on, but...

Regarding food, what can I say? Steak, vegetables, seafood. Sushi is my favorite. Hate Lima beans!
The six things I could never do without
Kids are a given, so...

Books, Great Words, Single Malt Scotch, My iPad, taste, hearing and sight. I know, seven...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My parents. They were married in 1953, going against the grain of what was acceptable. Pop, the most amazingly kind and gentle man I've ever known, was Black. Mom, a truly brave and brilliant woman was a WASP. She was thrown out of the DAR and the Mayflower Society and erased from the pages of The Social Register. They were pioneers on the vast plain of racial harmony. They were wonderful, loving people. I never heard a voice raised in anger, and watched as they would waltz in the kitchen at the end of a long day.

I remember the pain that they suffered in those early days, and the joy that my Father felt when President Obama was elected. I am sad not to have them with me anymore, but glad that they don't have to see the ugly turn that the country is taking regarding racial politics.

The woman that I seek understands that Fox "News" is an oxymoron. If she thinks the "tea party" is the answer, she obviously didn't understand the question.
On a typical Friday night I am
Waiting to hear from you! How's that for cheese?
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My Great great, etc. Grandfather was the 7th Earl, Temple of Stowe. That a $3.50 will get me a small Starbucks.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 43–65
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
You want to find a great guy who will sing to you!