Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


46 M San Jose, CA

I’m looking for

  • Women who like men
  • Ages 30–55
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Mostly vegan
Buddhism, but not too serious about it
Scorpio, but it doesn’t matter
Graduated from Ph.D program
Science / Engineering
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Relationship Type
Doesn’t have kids
Likes dogs and has cats

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm smart, sometimes serious, sometimes silly, active/fit, and INFJ-ish. I'm looking for someone who'd enjoy hanging out, exploring outdoors, doing cultural stuff (plays, music), or traveling.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Professionally, I've got a successful career doing user experience research and design, which I really enjoy. Unprofessionally, I read a lot, enjoy quirky humor, hang out with my cat, and like to walk around strange cities.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Buying books. Playing Scrabble. Procrastinating. Mixing metaphors.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My shiny head and sparkling personality.

That I can seem a little nervous at first until I get to know you.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I read lots of mostly literary-ish fiction, occasional sci-fi and mystery, and lots of nonfiction: philosophy, history, psychology, Buddhism and (lefty) politics.

Some favorite writers: Paul Auster, Margaret Atwood, Haruki Murakami, Lydia Davis, Jonathan Ames, Kurt Vonnegut, James Tate, Nicholson Baker, Russell Hoban, Georges Perec. Also Borges, Calvino, Beckett, Kafka, Sebald, Bernhard and their ilk (which makes me sound very dark and serious, but I'm usually not).

Mostly I listen to Pandora or whatever my iPhone's shuffle serves up. That's dominated at the moment by Leonard Cohen, Philip Glass, 80's/90's alternative/electronic/industrial music, Radiohead, The Knife, Brian Eno, Max Richter, LCD Soundsystem, Depeche Mode, Judge John Hodgman, Arvo Part, F*ck Buttons.

TV: Stewart/Colbert, Dexter, Homeland, Twin Peaks, Flight of the Conchords, The Prisoner.

Movies: some favorites are indie/foreign films, Muppets, Gattaca, Until the End of the World.

Food: plant-based, mostly vegan. Doubling down on diet and fitness lately and dropping some pounds.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Books. A pet or two. The broccoflower continuum. A password manager. Vitamix.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Why some places have snails and some places have slugs.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Contemplating snails.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm Canadian.

I sometimes give a profile 5 stars if it makes me laugh or strikes me as unusually well-written, even though we might not be compatible/nearby. I'm not trying to be creepy. (Or I do it because I do think we're compatible and you're awesome and I will email you later when I have more time.)
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You don't take yourself too seriously and think we'd get along.

You want to wander through a museum or nature trail and make awkward witty conversation.

You can introduce me to some new electronic or industrial music that's not crap.

You want to talk books.