Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

PAProf

31 M Alexandria, VA

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 6:32pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Asian, Indian
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other
Sign
Scorpio
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Speaks
English, Gujarati, French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm an extroverted engineer - I'll look at someone else's shoes when talking to them! ;-)

Seriously though, I'm not nearly that bad. What I am is an ambitious and driven professional, equal parts artistic/creative and geeky, looking for someone who can indulge in both as well.

I love my job, especially that it gives me the flexibility to set my own hours and work from anywhere I want. I see a lot of really cool and fascinatingly complex medical science on a daily basis, and I also get to interact with thought leaders from all over the world. I try not to use too much DC jargon like "thought leaders."

I also love libraries. Seriously - they're like cathedrals. I've tried reading on Kindles and Nooks, and it just never took.

I grew up in Northeastern Pennsylvania, and I have lived/worked/traveled all over the US, so I'm always looking to get away for weekend trips and explore new cities.

I am quite easy-going and conversational, so drop me a line and hopefully we can chat further.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm currently working for the government, and although I love my job, most of "what I'm doing with my life" involves stuff outside of work - planning weekend excursions, reconnecting with friends, exploring the city so I don't feel like a newcomer even though I've been here for almost two years.

I really miss working with students, so I've been exploring adjunct faculty positions at some of the local colleges. That's what I was doing with my life before I moved here (I was a college professor in the Midwest), and I'd like to be doing that again, on at least a part-time basis.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Converting people from Starbucks chai to the real stuff.

Staying within the lines when driving. That's unusual for a DC/NoVa driver.

Pub Quiz/Trivia and retaining a lot of little known, seldom used information.

Having friends over to use them as guinea pigs for new kitchen experiments.

I love cooking and learning about food - the sounds and smells of the kitchen really help relax me after a long day. I don't bake desserts much, though, probably because you can't tell if you've made a mistake until the very end.

I also like to read and keep up on current events, which, along with my background in medicine/science, usually leads to great conversations.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm always asking questions - I'm definitely not going to be talking about myself all the time.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I like Rage Against the Machine, and I also like raging against hipsters.

I read a lot of dense, technical material at work, so for pleasure reading, I usually gravitate towards historical non-fiction and biographies. Every once in a while, one of the classics will get thrown in there. Three of my friends have published books in the past year, so those have jumped to the top of the pile.

My favorite all-time show was probably The West Wing, but lately I've been a regular watcher of Parks and Rec and Top Chef. Also, nostalgic, old-school shows (Bewitched, Get Smart, Bionic Woman, anything that was on a TGIF lineup). Plus, at the end of a really long and stressful week, how can you not feel better after a couple of Full House episodes? I'm also a sports fan, so if I'm actually in front of the TV for an extended period of time, it's usually on ESPN.

As for food - I've been a vegetarian for my entire life, but I'm not militant about it, nor do I try to convert others. I have some pretty mad kitchen skills though, so people usually don't miss the meat in my dishes. I could probably rotate between Mexican, Thai, and Indian food every day for the rest of my life and be perfectly content.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
learning to fly. Not in the Pink Floyd / Tom Petty sense, but in the actual, getting up there in a little Cirrus or Cessna.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Isn't this like that horrible reverse interview question you should never ask - "So what's a typical day like working for XYZ Widgets Incorporated?"

Really, I'm likely either at a happy hour/out with friends, or having people over at my place for drinks and dinner. The weekends tend to be great times to catch up with friends and family, especially when everybody has such busy schedules. It's also rare that I work a full day on Fridays, which makes entertaining so much easier for me and so much more appreciated by my friends.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 26–33
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
...you're looking to have some fun and explore the city with a drama-free, excellent conversationalist who loves his life.

...you don't pay too much attention to all of those stupid off-the-wall questions about criminal records, STDs, and bondage that OkCupid asks.

You should NOT message me if you're looking for a quick hook-up or an endless string of back-and-forth messages.

It's nice to get in touch and exchange a few messages over the computer, but what's the worst that happens if we meet - we exchange pleasantries, share a drink, realize we don't like each other, and go on with our merry lives. Nothing wrong with that!