New!   Incognito Mode. Now you can hand-select who sees you on OkCupid. That means total control of your visibility.

Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Palolatte

22 Portland, ME Woman

Woman

I’m looking for

  • Everyone
  • Ages 23–29
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 8:18pm
Orientation
Bisexual
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body type
Full figured
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other, and laughing about it
Sign
Leo
Education
Working on university
Job
Education
Income
Status
Single
Type
Monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Has dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Greek (Okay), Spanish (Okay), Sign Language (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Hello, I'm Margaret. I'm currently a student at the University of Southern Maine, which is pretty cool. I live in Portland in the East End and I work as a nanny, tutor, and a weaver.

I'm a laidback country girl who loves to write, weave, crochet, hike, sing, watch movies, read, and be outside. I'm pretty geeky and I have a very strong sense of humor.

I spent twelve years living overseas in Greece and Saudi Arabia, and I don't take too kindly to xenophobes or people who refer to Muslims as "terrorists".

I really love studying scientific things like evolution, modern human/animal hybridization (although that one's actually for a story I'm writing), and psychology. Neurology in particular is really interesting for me.

I'm a sucker for movies about the apocalypse.

I've worked in childcare for the majority of my working life, and I am DAMN good at it.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I own and operate my own weaving business, which you can find on Etsy and Facebook if you search "Palola Palooza".
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Weaving - I've been working in textiles since I was 15 and I now have a weaving business. I've been extensively trained in both rapid-fire production weaving and ancient Minoan tapestry, and I now specialize in music-conversion weaving.

I'm also really good at working with kids. I have a lot of tricks up my sleeves that childcare professionals don't think of.

I'm a great baker and pretty good cook. I love cooking for people and I will most likely make you my savory baked apples because they are to DIE for.

I'm great at pronouncing words in foreign languages, with the exception of French or German. I can pronounce Mandarin Chinese better than I can pronounce French or German.

I like to think I'm good at writing, too.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My height! People often assume I play basketball, even though it's pretty much the only major league sport I have ZERO interest in.

Also, I wear flip-flops in the snow.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Oof, this might take awhile.

BOOKS: "Treasure Island", "The Lady And The Unicorn" and "The Girl With A Pearl Earring" by Tracy Chevaliers, anything by Cormac McCarthy, "Cat's Cradle", "The Jaguar Princess" by Clare Bell (this one has a shitty title but a freaking incredible story). I also love anything David Sedaris has ever written. Harry Potter and the collected works of Tamora Pierce will always hold a special place in my heart.

My favorite non-fiction books are "Napoleon's Buttons: Seventeen Molecules That Changed History" by Penny Le Couteur and Jay Burreson, "The Lucifer Principle" by Howard Bloom, and "Extraordinary Popular Delusions And The Madness Of Crowds" by Charles McKay.

MOVIES: It would be absolutely impossible to list all the movies I love (I'm a HUGE movie buff), but I will say that my top seven are Swimming With Sharks (1994), Stranger Than Fiction (2006), Stage Door (1937), The Third Man (1949), Road To Perdition (2004), The Secret Of Roan Inish (1994), and 12 Monkeys (1995).

TV SHOWS: Dexter, Supernatural, Glee, The Office, American Horror Story, Dead Like Me, Drop Dead Diva, Seinfeld, Castle, Elementary, Modern Family, Game Of Thrones, Scrubs, Sherlock, The Walking Dead, Doctor Who, Breaking Bad, Hannibal, Orphan Black, and Orange Is The New Black. (I have a difficult time focusing on one thing at a time, so usually if I'm doing something like homework or writing I'll have a show on in the background, unless I'm just listening to music.)

MUSIC: I like a TON of different stuff, from opera to a few heavy metal songs. Mainly I listen to movie soundtracks - my favorite score is the one from Beasts Of The Southern Wild, composed by Dan Romer & Benh Zeitlin. I also love anything by Thomas Newman, Danny Elfman, Harry Gregson-Williams, Alexandre Desplat, Ennio Morricone, Marco Beltrami, and Mychael Danna.

As for bands/singers, I'm big on The Black Keys, The Kongos, Milo Greene, Fall Out Boy, Imagine Dragons, Of Monsters & Men, Relient K, Walk Off The Earth, AWOLNATION, The Acorn, Boy, CCR, Queen, The Beatles, Freelance Whales, Mumford & Sons, Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, AC-DC, The Avett Brothers, Bastille, and especially David Gray.

FOOD: Pretty much anything except Thai food. I can be picky, but I can find something I like anywhere except a Thai restaurant.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My pets, my family, music, my laptop, the kids I work with, my loom. Also, my purple hat.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
My writing. I'm almost always figuring out what the next plot points should be.

I spend a lot of time pondering what cities would look like if they were abandoned.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Varies from week to week. I usually prefer quiet evenings at home, but that doesn't mean I'll turn down the opportunity to go out and have some fun downtown :)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I really want to take a year off and walk across America.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
If you want to strike up a polite conversation over a cup of coffee downtown :)

Please don't message me if you are 30 or older, or in another country or a different state. I really do mean it when I say I'm looking for people near me. No long-distance stuff, please.