Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

PamPsyD737

30 F Mountain View, CA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 8:21pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and laughing about it
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Medicine
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm an Arizona native who did a short stint in Southern California, and I'm now happy to be living in the bay area working as a psychologist. It's important to me to keep balance in my life because my job can be draining even though it's also quite fulfilling. So I make sure to spend a lot of time outside (it's where I'm my happiest). You'll often find me hiking, running, doing yoga or trying out some fitness class. Keeping up my friendships is a priority for me, and I love spending time with close friends and going out to dinner or trying some new random activity (I'm into getting as many "firsts" into my life as I can). My most recent firsts include the Tough Mudder, aerial yoga, and climbing. I'm a big fan of all of these so far...got a bit of work to do on the climbing, though!

I'm drawn to people who are contradictions, and consider myself one of them. That means people who are introspective and place great value on self-reflection, but also laugh at themselves and don't take life too seriously. People who are tough-softies, or are cynically optimistic. Old souls who laugh at lame puns harder than a 5 year-old laughs at bathroom jokes. People who want to try new activities and push their limits, always up for a challenge, but can be equally content with a calm night in with movies, wine, and pizza. People with a strong sense of what they want for their future, but who live their lives in the present. What can I say--contradictions keep things interesting :-)
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a clinical psychologist working at an outpatient clinic for adults. I'm continuing to build in my career to include a private practice so that I can have more flexibility in my schedule to travel and do all the hobbies I love to do with the people I love to be around. When I'm not at work I'm typically either outside running or hiking, inside contorting in some ridiculous yoga pose, sharing a meal with a wonderful friend, or watching movies that make me smile. I know that feeling meaning, mastery, and some plain old hedonism is the formula for happiness, and that's what I'm going for in my life.
I’m really good at
Not this... :-)

But I'm good at seeing things from all angles, pushing my limits, teaching, yoga, and embarrassing myself. That may very well be my greatest skill.
The first things people usually notice about me
My friends/psychologist buddies say they notice that I present myself authentically--which typically translates into me making an ass of myself sooner than the average bear, and calling others out on it if they're putting up a front to help them be comfortable enough to join me in happily looking foolish. No idea what the rest of the world notices first.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books--I usually have three books going at the same time--there are just too many good things to read out there. Just started "Wild." I like anything by Nabokov. Loved "We The Living" by Rand. I prefer fiction most of the time and love getting lost in stories that are leaps and bounds from anything happening in real life (I hear a lot of real life all day!). But my guilty confession is that I'm very into the psych/pop psych books--it's not so much that I bring work home with me, but I love what I do so reading about it is fun! Huge fan of Pema Chodron (Taking the Leap, Comfortable with Uncertainty) and David Richo (The 5 Things We Cannot Change, How to be an Adult). If you agree with the ideas described by those two authors, we will probably get along very, very well.

Movies-- About Time, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Kill Bill and lots of other Tarantino movies, Monsters Inc (I'm a sucker for pixar-type films), Life is Beautiful, Office Space...totally depends on the mood.

Shows--Arrested Development, The Office, Being Human, Futurama and Simpsons, Dexter...well until the final season of Dexter, that is (anyone else disappointed there??). It's easy for me to get hooked on a series on Netflix and go through it at lightening speed (damn instant-watch!), but I tend to avoid TV on my days off and just go for some tube time winding down on weekday evenings. I just got into Game Of Thrones. I kind of hate gruesome violence so I watch half of it through a slit in my fingers, but the show is amazing.

Music--Lots of genres...I'm huge on the old greats like the eagles and led zeppelin, became a billy joel fan when my dad got me into him as a kid and haven't stopped...love strong female vocals with some soul (Jewel, Indie Arie, Sara Bareilles). Some of the more random groups with amusing lyrics like Postal Service and Rilo Kiley...I'm starting to annoy myself with my list so I'll stop. I generally suck at knowing who sings what when it comes on the radio, so I can't consider myself a true music afficianado, but am always up for finding new bands (recently fell for Honey Island Swamp Band at New Orleans Jazz Fest)...

Food--I generally eat pretty healthy, going for whole foods and avoiding things that have more than a couple ingredients...but I enjoy going out to restaurants once or twice a week and am not the type to order the salad if I'm out! I love almost everything and am always up for trying something new, but I can never go wrong with sushi, thai, or pizza.
The six things I could never do without
Cross-training shoes
Wonderful friends and lots of laughter
My passport and a dream of where to go next
Water (not in the smart-ass "you need it to survive" way...I seriously love water and drink alarming quantities of it)
The perfect pillow (my definition of this shifts way too often)
A new challenge
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to stop thinking and just be for a few minutes.
On a typical Friday night I am
either wiped out from my week and watching a movie on my couch with some delicious dinner so I can be rested for a very active Saturday...or doing a nice after-work bay run if I have the energy...or out with girlfriends for dinner and dancing on a (very rare) week where I somehow got enough sleep!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm not a particularly private person, but for the functions of this website, I think that pretty much covers it... :-)
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 29–38
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
I'd love to hear from you if you think we'd get along based on what you've read and share similar values...especially the value of continuing to stretch yourself and pursue personal growth and self-awareness. I work to know myself pretty well, and am looking to meet someone who's done that work (or is doing that work) as well.

In terms of when not to message me...If you put topless mirror shots of yourself (or more specifically your abs) up, we're unlikely to fit. I'd like to be more into a guy than he is into himself ;-)

Also, If you list some form of alcohol under the six things you can't live without, we're unlikely to be a good match. No problem with the occasional drink, but if it's that big a part of your life, our values don't line up.