Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

PamelaRi

68 F Berkeley, CA

I’m looking for

  • Men who like women
  • Ages 60–70
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
May 16
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 4″ (1.63m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Other, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Gemini, and it matters a lot
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Politics / Government
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I am a native Californian, born in Berkeley, raised in Sacramento, and then back to Berkeley where I attended UC Berkeley and then married and raised a family in Berkeley. I am a child of the 1960s. Many of my younger friends remark that my life parallels that of Forrest Gump!

I was an intern in Washington DC where I met President John F. Kennedy and participated in the Martin Luther King March on Washington. I was a student radical, arrested in the Free Speech Movement, was a member of the civil rights organization CORE, and went to Bogalusa LA one summer in a voters registration drive. While I was somewhat skeptical of the Summer of Love hippies I was drawn to the San Francisco poets who gathered in North Beach.

I married in 1970, moved to Vancouver BC for a while where we lived in a commune and built a wonderful cabin in NW British Columbia. I was married to my husband and lived with him in Berkeley for almost 37 years. He died in 2001. We had two children, a boy and a girl. My son practices Chinese medicine in Blue Springs (Kansas City) MO of all places and has an 18 year and 5 year old son. My daughter lives in Berkeley (her daughter is just 6 months old).

I worked for twenty years for public policy think tanks, primarily in the area of K-12 education policy, because I believed that schools were one of the institutions still alive and vital to the inner city and minority community. Interestingly, this belief led me to question my liberal or progressive assumptions, and I became much more interested in conservative or libertarian ideas when I realized that the progressive movement was bankrupt. My work in education reform has taken me to the California legislature, to Washington D.C., to schools in the inner cities of Oakland and Richmond, and finally to Iraq, where I worked with the US government to rebuild the Iraqi Ministry of Education. Much of my research, once considered anti-progressive (charter schools, standards based curriculum, high standards for teachers) is now being promoted by the Obama administration.

I have been a seeker of freedom and happiness all my life. Although my professional career was exciting and rewarding, I believe that true happiness and the freedom to pursue it will come to me spiritually.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I am recently retired and trying to decide what I will do when I grow up! People of my generation (Baby-Boomers) are a huge bulge in the demographics in this country. The 55+ generation has much to contribute (and a long life ahead to be able to do so) to their community and nation. I want to work with some of the organizations that can mobilize this important but often neglected sector.

I am also able now to turn my writing and research skills to creative writing and am writing a novel. And I am continuing my life long seeking to be free and happy!
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
I am a people person. I like people and they like me. I use my research, journalism, and community organizing skills to get insights into people and their deepest thoughts and desires. I am interested in astrology and use what I learn from my family's and friends' charts to help them understand their reality. The art of astrology (and others such as Tarot) are based on hundreds of years and thousands of observations, more than those from psychology or more recently the self-help movement.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I read quite a bit and a wide range. I enjoy mysteries (Michael Connelly) for light reading. One of my favorite spiritual books is Be Here Now (Ram Das). I recently read Masque of Africa (V S Naipaul) and am currently reading Clouds of Witness, stories of those Russians held in the Gulag and who were profoundly affected by their interactions with Father Arseny, a Russian Orthodox priest who spent most of his life in Soviet prisons.

I love good independent and foreign movies. My favorite all time movie is 400 BLows (Trauffaut). My favorite musicians are Bob Dylan, Lucinda Williams, and Ry Cooder.

I enjoy food but need to watch my diet carefully.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
A life companion
Good friends
My spiritual teacher
Books (hope they keep public libraries open)
My computer
My sense of humor
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
The nature of reality, who and what am I? How can I be truly happy?
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
At a great indie movie that just opened. Being retired though, every night is Friday night.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Living in the Bay Area and especially in Berkeley I am part of a very progressive community but am myself quite libertarian (some might say conservative) and sometimes I feel I need to keep those views private. While I am very tolerant of most political views, I often encounter many who are not. While freedom and happiness can be achieved partially through politics, there is no one answer, no one knows for sure the truth. After 9/11 I went a bit nuts (say as Christopher Hitchens did) and even went to Iraq to work with the US occupation. That confounded so many of my friends!