Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Paulicious_D

35 Washington, DC Man

Man

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 26–38
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Yesterday – 5:18pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Hispanic / Latin
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other, but not too serious about it
Sign
Taurus, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from law school
Job
Law
Income
Rather not say
Status
Single
Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Fluently), Russian (Poorly)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Hi! I'm Paul. Let's be fairly literal. This is a lot of information for a profile, but feel free to skim. (I thought that I would not like long profiles, but then I realized that I generally appreciate information in profiles, particularly information about what engages you intellectually and whether you have a cat.)

I'm about 5 foot 9 inches tall and 180 pounds. (That is not all muscle.) I can run five miles easily. I might be able to run ten miles. I would need to train a lot to run a marathon. I can do wheel pose and half moon pose fine, but have not perfected the handstand. (At this point, some of you may be concerned that I have a good personality.)

I'm Type O something. (Negative?) I think that I have all my shots.

I've been living in the District since Fall 2012. I'm from San Antonio, Texas. My parents are from Nuevo Leon in Mexico and Long Island. They still live in San Antonio (apart). I have one sibling, a younger sister. My younger sister and her partner live in the Chicago area, but are going to be in the Bay Area this year. I identify as Mexican-American/Latino/Chicano/Tejano/Texican. However, I do enjoy the privileges of looking like a white dude. I also identify as Italian-American. Most of my friends are up and down the east coast, in Texas, and in California. I regularly visit Nuevo Leon, Texas, and wherever my sister and brother-in-law happen to be living.

Besides English, I speak Spanish well and Russian badly.

I don't like the use of "basic" as an insult, except perhaps when applied to having a trust fund: "Biff's trust fund is so basic. Where did he get those mutual funds from, Fidelity?" (Some of my best friends have trust funds.)

Two years is the longest relationship that I have been in. I don't follow the proscription on ending sentences with prepositions when writing (or speaking) English. Three months is the shortest. (I think.) I have never been engaged or married. (I know.)

I don't have kids. I probably would like to have kids, biologically or through adoption, with the right partner.

I do not have any pets. I like dogs. I probably would like to adopt a dog with the right partner, but I'm also content to visit other people's dogs. I'm allergic to cats. I'm open to rabbits, birds, and turtles. I'm not open to snakes or tarantulas.

I live between Adams Morgan and Mount Pleasant in a studio apartment. I rent. I don't own a car, a boat, an airplane, bicycle, zeppelin, or motorcycle. I don't like motorcycles.

See below about what I'm doing and what I like to do.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Trying to be happy (obvs)!

I love learning, and I try to continue (preserve?) my education. I have several practices that I'm working on such as cooking, running, yoga, maintaining complete sentences, writing, and keeping myself on schedule.

Part of continuing to learn is absorbing what I can on topics that are vital to me--like poverty and urbanization in the U.S. and in D.C. I love to engage people on a moving topic or profound set of experiences.

Happily, I am paid to teach law students how to represent low-income people. I work at a non-profit where I supervise, mentor, and guide law students representing persons seeking to avoid eviction or secure other relief for violations of their rights. My job is usually rewarding and often fun.

I like to find out what's happening in town and checking it out. I also almost always enjoy live music, museums, parks, and enjoying a nice day. I love random fun like semi-spontaneous dancing, word sparring, inappropriate singing, or water balloon fights. I'm down for diy events like slightly boozed jam sessions, craft parties, and spontaneous dance sessions. (I am also working on making more time for fun like that.)

I'm not into staycationing. I love visiting cities as well as places where nature vastly outnumbers buildings and asphalt.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
karaoke performances of Total Eclipse of the Heart.

Making fun of TV while enjoying that same TV.

I'm also really good at finding the grey in a situation and talking about it, or what's funny about a situation and laughing at it. I tend to see many or everyone's side of an issue. Conversely, I'm not bad at politely informing people when they are completely bonkers. See Ayn Rand below.

My friends think I'm funny, but you may disagree with them.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I don't know. I often wear bright colors (for a dude). People may notice that I'm funny or weird, depending on their sense of humor. See above.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Favorite karaoke songs are Back in the U.S.S.R. and Since You've Been Gone.

I really enjoy live music. In DC I've mostly gone to shows at 9:30 Club and Black Cat as well as classical performances. I also really like live jazz. Somewhat recently I saw the War on Drugs at 9:30 Club, Andras Schiff at Strathmore, and Vijay Iyer's trio at 6th and I.

I like most genres of music. A few of the artists that I keep returning to are Frank Ocean, the Beatles, Kraftwerk, Duke Ellington, Neil Young, Sonic Youth, Fela Kuti, the Knife, Julieta Venegas, Jason Moran, the B-52s, Bon Iver, the Flaming Lips, Toumani Diabate, Nina Simone, Sharon Von Etten, Bjork, Prince, Rush, Talking Heads, Dolly Parton, P.J. Harvey, Kanye West, Lorde, Grimes, Wu Tang, Caetano Veloso, Steve Earle, FKA Twigs, John Coltrane, the Smiths, and Stevie Wonder.

I love classical music, from Renaissance music to contemporary pieces. Classical pieces that I love include Beethoven's late piano sonatas, John Adams's violin concerto, Verdi's Othello, Mozart's piano concertos, Mahler's symphonies, Shostakovich's string quartets, Ravel's piano trio, Schnittke's string quartets, Grieg's piano concerto, Schumann's String Quintet, Stravinsky's chamber idiosyncrasies, the other Adams's Become Ocean, and most everything by J.S. Bach.

I just finished On Such a Full Sea by Chang-Rae Lee. It was great; I loved the use of the protagonist's community as narrator. I am working through a Roberto Bolano novel in Spanish, which is going slow but still going. Some authors whose works I love are Junot Diaz, Alice Munro, Anton Chekhov, Vladimir Nabokov, George Eliot, Teju Cole, Thomas Hardy, Virginia Woolf, Jorge Luis Borges, Toni Morrison, and Laurence Stern. I also like reading social sciences and history books, but not as much as I like reading fiction. I have a subscription to the New Yorker, and enjoy it when it's not too focused on profiling the lives of rich people.

Again, I like museums. I like the pacing, the not being outside when the weather is terrible, and the openness of the experience. I seldom have encountered a museum that I did not enjoy, but I most often return to art museums. I particularly like going to see contemporary art because it often challenges how I think, and is sometimes startlingly beautiful. (I acknowledge that great art generally should challenge how I think if I happen to bother to think about it.)

The last films that I really enjoyed were Mad Max (go Charlize!), Spy, and Diplomacy. I am trying to keep netflix in moderation. The movies I like most tend to be comedies like Wet Hot American Summer, Monty Python movies, or Bridesmaids; fairly serious films like Ikiru, Vertigo, and Lincoln; and films that are seriously comedic (or the reverse) like the Squid and the Whale, Smiles of a Summer Night, Doctor Strangelove, There Will Be Blood, Fargo, and 8 1/2. I particularly like the last kind of movies. See Chekhov below.

I like going to the theater, but do not go very often. The last play I saw was Tribes at Studio Theater. I do not know plays very well, but love Chekhov. See fondness for seriously comedic above.

I really love NPR, even if I wish that WAMU would play less Canadian shows. (Why?!?!?!) I also listen to KEXP, an independent music station out of Seattle; Q2, a contemporary classical music station out of New York; and KRTU, a jazz station out of San Antonio. I also like Democracy Now, but have not made time for it recently.

I recently watched all of the new Wet Hot American Summer series on Netflix. I am now watching the latest season of Doctor Who.

I enjoy watching sports, but do not make an effort to catch games besides the Women's and Men's World Cup and NBA Playoffs (particularly when the playoffs involves the Spurs). It is fun to watch the Nationals on a nice day.

Food is great. I like going out to eat, but I would rather cook.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Time with loved ones. Time devoted to my vocation. Time to myself. Sleep.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
What I am going to do when I get out of work.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I like to read.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You are a woman who is smart, confident, sexy, kind, and funny. You'd like to go dancing; rock a music festival; attend a chamber recital; co-host a dinner party; compare books and ideas we love and maybe half-remember; run in a park; teach me a language; make furniture (I'm not good at this, but am interested); see a play; go to a museum; or reteach me statistics.

I'm also open to (almost) any adventure you'd like me to try. I like learning from other people's passions; sometimes they become my own.

It'd also be great if we could form a fake rock band.

Also, please don't be into Ayn Rand. Please.