Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

PecanTwist

43 New York, NY Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women who like men
  • Ages 27–47
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Nov 20
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 1″ (1.85m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Virgo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Entertainment / Media
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English, Spanish (Okay), French (Poorly), Tibetan (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a recent transplant to NYC looking for experiences and people in life that are authentic and true. The moments that matter. The one's you remember. The poetry within the prose. I'm comfortable with silence, but am very conversational. I'm a happy guy. A good egg.

I am a devoted secular humanist, who thinks we should all strive to be more compassionate. I try to do my part everyday. I love the arts and science equally and enjoy suspending my life and work somewhere between the two. You can ask me my astrological sign only once, but after that you get the stink eye. I heard someone once say, "The only question you need to ask yourself is: Are you a child of the Enlightenment?" I love that. And yes, I am.

Looking for a woman who is creative, kind (to a fault), nerdy, curious, devoted to a cause or purpose in life (even if it's self expression), sensuous and intelligent. Any group of three of these put together equals sexy in my book. And if you are a salsa dancer or at least open to learning, I promise, your ass is going to look great to me.

A few other items that will catch your attention or send you packing:
- I enjoy seemingly quaint hobbies like birding and leaf collecting.
- One of my life-long goals I haven't fulfilled yet is learning to sail.
- I finished my masters degree in forestry and worked for several years as a wilderness ranger for the U.S. Forest Service.
- My personal heroes are Bill Moyers, Aung Sang Suu Kyi, Gary Snyder, Richard Avedon, Sebastião Salgado, Jane Goodall, Andy Goldsworthy, my sister and Ai Weiwei.
- I get really excited every time another hominid fossil is discovered.
- I can talk about bonobos for hours.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm making films and photographs, mostly within refugee communities around the world. I share stories or at least bear witness, then spend as much time on the trail or by the water when I have time to myself. Trying to put the pieces together, making connections, never stop learning.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
...teaching the things I know to others and making people feel comfortable and appreciated. Seeing the good in people and photographing the good in people. Giving a damn, then laughing about it. Being inquisitive...and making a damn fine margarita.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My smile and my southern accent...I think the two go hand-in-hand.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Just a sampling...
-books- Watership Down, The Grapes of Wrath, The Dharma Bums, Empire of the Summer Moon, Blood Meridian, Landscape and Memory, and A Sand County Almanac -films- Un Prophete, The Piano, Il Postino, Dersu Uzula, Les Quatre Cents Coups, The Thin Red Line, The Insider, Le Temps du Loup -music- Ella Fitzgerald, Bosa Nova, Yo-Yo Ma, Talking Heads, Radiohead, Bon Iver, Claude Debussy, Broken Social Scene, Jill Scott, Daniel Lanois, Wilco, Lauryn Hill, James Brown, Stevie Wonder, Arvo Pärt -food- Japanese, Burmese, Soul Food and Tex-Mex.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
- campfires
- dogs (all of them)
- my camera
- the creative process
- a partner who enjoys a playful sex life
- stories with old friends
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm a tea connoisseur, who collects bird prints. My friends like to tease that I'm practicing up to be an old woman. I'm also a little obsessed with finding quiet places in the city. I would be perfectly happy to meet you on a park bench, versus the standard 'light-life' scene. In fact, probably the most anti-social thing about me you should know is unless I am going dancing or to hear live music, if I am in an environment where I am forced to speak above my natural speaking voice I am probably ready to leave.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
OKC's match-making and personality algorithms are imperfect to be sure, but in theory, the perfect woman for me "might be" more kind, more kinky and more scientific than the average.

Otherwise, message me if...you love what you do and enjoy discussing it...if you have a sex-positive outlook and think vanilla sex is a great place to start, but not finish in a long-term relationship...if you think one's highest calling is to do good for others...AND you are not afraid to simply be your own person. The rest is window dressing and negotiable.