Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

PeculiarTravel

29 M Pretoria, South Africa

My Details

Last Online
Mar 31
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Height
6′ 1″ (1.85m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly other
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Taurus, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on masters program
Job
Income
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Welsh (Poorly), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a molecular biologist who once curred cancer, but now works at REI, but who once worked as a stage actor in Chicago, who now
backpacks from time to time while awaiting new scientific oportomites in Africa. Good times.

QUICK EDIT: I made it to Africa :) ...more on that later.
What I’m doing with my life
- to be with a thousand new faces at 5 am when sun has charred the other side of the world and come back to us painting the smoke over our heads an imperial violet.
-Enjoying the life possible on this mote of dust suspended in a sunbeam.
-Not so patiently waiting to hear back from the University of Pretoria about my grad school application. ...if all goes well I'll be splitting my time between South Africa and Antarctica for the next two years. Super stoked!
-Recovering from an epic trip out west to Burning Man, and the subsequent travel that comfortable coincidence afforded me on the 3 weeks I took to get home.
-Trying to find a way to meet the kind of kindred souls you meet on the road while living the life sedentary. Travel is just some sort of universal filter that lets those lovers of life stream forth in higher concentrations, but I'm trying here at home.
-Trying to find a knitting project that will top my previous one.
I’m really good at
-I would like to think my first impression test-o-meter. ...I hope anyway, I use it quite a bit when hopping into stranger's cars and following new people on random adventures. It has worked out rather well so far, so at least there's that :)
...and eating. I'll sleep in a park to save a buck when I backpack, but I'll always throw down the cash for a not-to-be-missed meal on the road. To that end, I also really enjoy cooking as well.
-I really like explaining science to people, young and old. I'm a scientist by trade, but started as a theater kid.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
'Favorite' to me means a somewhat concise list, so I'll rock a 'top first ten favorite books that pop in my head' in no particular order...

Cat's Cradle, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, The Stranger, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Steppenwolf, Tao Te Ching, Catch 22, Y: The Last Man, Hamlet and The Elephant Vanishes (but really all of Murakami's books rule)

For a myriad of reasons I haven't had cable for the last 3 years, so I'm a little out of touch on the scene. I'm down for some occasional T.V. action though, and have been fighting to keep up with Breaking Bad.

As for music, I really dig Andrew Jackson Jihad, Streetlight Manifesto, Joanna Newsom, Muse, Animal Collective, NOFX, Chicago, Dethklok, Miles Davis, Andrew Bird's Bowl of Fire, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Eyedea and Abilities, Sufjan Stevens, Mike Doughty, Loveage, Dead to Me, Dan Deacon
On a typical Friday night I am
typical? ...as of late I would say finishing up something late in the lab then heading for 'just one beer' with lab-mates that turns into ten.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't have too much I hold private. ...homo sum: humani nil a me alienum puto.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–40
  • Near me
  • For new friends