Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

PhDJeepGuy82

31 M Tempe, AZ

My Details

Last Online
Today – 4:40pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 1″ (1.85m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Scorpio, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly), French (Okay), Polish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Hi, I'm Mike.

I'm an Arizona native who a few years ago said F*$k it to my job as a software engineer at a major defense contractor in Scottsdale and decided to try something new. Tired with the life of a mid-level corporate drone, I figured I either needed to travel around the world or go to grad school.

So here I am, currently in my fourth year of a PhD at Arizona State University. About the same time I started back at school, I also decided to buy and begin to eternally fix up a 20 year old Jeep Wrangler. Both of which I genuinely love... much of the time. I've still managed to find the time and resources to do some traveling - backpacking in East Europe (I gave a talk on economics and democracy in Poland), road tripping down the Baja, and of course various casual trips around the US.

I can be a pretty passionate nerd about economics, math, history, and politics (as well as gunsmithing, robotics, jeep mechanics, physics, and such) all of which I enjoy talking about, especially over scotch and cigars.

I've become a pretty avid bicyclist, I have a nice old road bike and barely seem to drive anymore.
What I’m doing with my life
In the last year I've road tripped 2/3 the way down the Baja, passed my phd comprehensive exams making me all but dissertation, hiked Humphrey's peak (12,637 ft I believe), driven a 5,000 mile road trip from AZ through NOLA, St. Augustine Florida, up through the windiest road in the Smokey Mtns (PSH nothing on AZ) and through 1000 year old Indian ruins and villages in New Mexico, sailed a friends 37 foot sailboat ft to Catalina island and back, and taught myself how to successfully free dive pole spearfish. I also found myself running an informal half marathon* in August which was a pretty brutal an unprepared first (next time I'll prep and not eat nachos 30 minutes before hand).

Right now, I'm focused on my research, saving up for some traveling I want to do, and working on getting back into shape after a pretty brutal first two and a half years of my PhD program.

Trying, and occasionally succeeding, to keep myself sane working on my research, I've recently gotten into running. Recently I did my first 5k and have joined 'drinking club with a running problem' somewhat infamous for mayhem and malarkey around town. Also I spend a lot of time hiking, camping, cooking, and out with friends enjoying good beers.

This makes me busy, but life should be.

*running is a somewhat generous term
I’m really good at
Math, economics, killing spiders, bonfire evenings, road trips...
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably the beard and barrel chest
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Mostly read for my research...other than that I'm generally reading current events or history but when I was younger I read a lot of : Asimov, Hemingway, Tolkien, Dumas, Steinbeck....

Most movies, classics, adventures, terrible horror or action movies.

I don't have cable, but do allow myself the occasional morphine drip on Netflix from time to time... Dexter, Futurama, Mad Men, the office...

Classic Rock, Outlaw Country, Indie, Folk, old Metal, the occasional Symphony or Opera, most anything. I've been listening to a lot of Roger Clyne, CCR, Mumford & Sons, Hank Wiliams Sr, Jack Johnson, and Johnny Cash lately...and somehow ska has gotten into the mix.

Anything - Veggies, bloody meat, spicy ethnic food, seafood...favorite is probably Mariscos (aka Mexican seafood)

Scotch, good beer, red wine...
The six things I could never do without
I don't need much but I do like open spaces and purpose in life.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My research, projects I'm working on, traveling... and yeah, I'm a passionate guy who spends time thinking about the girl I have in my life when there is one, or finding and having that one to live and love life with.
On a typical Friday night I am
Cooking something new, going on a jog, and either having a drink at home watching a movie, or going out with friends for a round of beers.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm not always on here (even though my app makes it look that way), but when I am... I'm probably sipping whiskey...

A friend teased me tonight about how I should mention and not stop mentioning the fact that by age 12 I was a H.A.M. radio operator and licensed by the US government to operate Morse code at 5 wpm. I also build robots and refurbished antique rifles all through high school... Idk, if you find this cool, hit me up I guess.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 18–46
  • Near me
  • For new friends, short-term dating, casual sex
You should message me if
Right now, I'm primarily looking for more the low impact, casual dating thing, hopefully intermixed with some hiking/running/picnics/museum trips/drinking/billiards/ homecooking experiment extravaganzas, and the potential for other de-stressing passionate carnal endeavors if the mood fits.

While I put down casual sex, that really goes more along with short term, casual dating likeI listed above

So if you've taken a look around and are interested, I tend to be the most attracted to intelligent, kind women who are adventurous, independent, and enjoy trying new things and experiencing new and different situations.

If you own a crockpot