Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

PianoEAP

33 M Montreal, Quebec, CA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 8
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly other
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Taurus, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and dislikes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), Swedish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Update (April 2014): Taking a break from OKC. In a relationship. Still up for friendships, especially Jewish ones. I'll keep my information up here in any case, but probably won't check very often. Emails welcome: GMElias2863@gmail.com

Hello. Where to begin? For starters, I am a pianist, so having some love of music (preferably a penchant towards classical) is a must.

As for my background, etc., I am a Swedish-American from New Mexico. If you want more details, just ask!

I consider myself fairly open: it's easy to get to know me at first, probably because of my outgoing personality. But there are many twists and turns to my persona that take time to figure out.

An important part of my identity is Judaism. I don't consider myself particularly religious, but I do regularly attend services, both for religious/spiritual and personal/social reasons.

As a pianist, I teach, lecture, and concertize (mostly in the USA in Canada). Forewarning for those that want to discuss my favorite whatever (composers, pianists, etc.) and/or teaching tangents; I am liable to talk your ear off.

In the end, I hope you're interested to keep on reading. :)
What I’m doing with my life
Teaching and performing piano. Discussing life philosophies with friends. Considering how my specific expertise can better the world and why arts/culture is so important. Living in Montreal provides quite the vantage point in many respects.
I’m really good at
-Piano
-Sports (I grew up with soccer, tennis, swimming, and even table tennis)
-Board games
-Engaging in conversations
-Introspection and openness to change (well, sometimes!)
-Being a loyal friend/companion
-Making people feel at ease and breaking down barriers
-Teaching (I hope my skills have improved in the last 15 years!)
The first things people usually notice about me
Most likely my humor and my smile. I often joke with people before even really knowing them, which can throw them off guard. Usually, they quickly realize I am joking.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books are tunnels to the soul. Here are some recent books I read that had a profound affect on me in one way or another:
David Foster Wallace--basically everything (maybe my favorite writer, currently)
The Wind-up Bird Chronicle--Murakami
This is Where I Leave You--Jonathan Tropper
Guns, Germs, and Steel & Collapse--Jared Diamond
Sync--Steven Strogatz
The Black Swan--Nassim Taleb
Atlas Shrugged/Fountainhead--Ayn Rand (even though I disagree with her principles and feel she is quite hypocritical, I still think these are incredible writing samples).

Movies: Here are some movies I have on my computer:
A Clockwork Orange, Alice in Wonderland, Barry Lyndon, Drive, Fight Club, In Bruges, Inception, Jim Gaffigan's "Beyond The Pale", Limitless, Little Miss Sunshine, Sherlock Holmes, Sideways, Slumdog Millionaire, The King's Speech. These are all amazing in my book!

Shows: I like The Office (British and US, though the latter has gotten a bit old), getting into Curb Your Enthusiasm slowly but surely ("don't call me Shirley" - Airplane), Game of Thrones.

Music: classical, though I enjoy other genres as well. I'm a sucker for 80's music and groups like A-ha, ABBA, Ace of Base, and not just because they all start with the letter "A" or because they are Scandinavian!

Food: I love cooking and enjoy many different ethnic foods (New Mexico has the best chile in the world!). I am currently changing a few eating habits as well, i.e. gluten-free (mostly), more organic, using a juicer, etc. Some of this stuff takes time for adjustment.
The six things I could never do without
Music
Friends/Family
Health
Great food
Laughter
A great many other things too...any ideas!?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Cultural norms and expectations. More recently, I am trying to follow politics--mostly American and Canadian--and think about the effects on my field and the world at large. I think about people, ideas, philosophy, and ingrained social constructs.

How can I make others feel as passionate about music as I do? How can my teaching improve? How and what can my students teach ME?

Oh yeah, and what will I enjoy cooking for dinner!?

I admit that I am quite the over-thinker. That's something you'll have to accept!
On a typical Friday night I am
I usually attend Shabbat Services. Occasionally, I go to concerts or social gatherings with friends. I am not the clubbing type, per se. I prefer spending time with close friends, anyhow. Having said that, I have been known to go to salsa clubs, swing dance clubs, karaoke bars, and music clubs ranging from avant-garde classical and country hill-billy to indie and rock.

I can also be found practicing late into the night and then having a relaxing dinner with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I guess you can ask me and I can try to come up with something! Isn't it better to find this stuff out later?!
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–32
  • Near me
  • For new friends
You should message me if
-If you have read this far and think we might have something to talk about!
-If you want to chat about something important or something of common interest.
-If you are skeptical about dating sites, but think "who knows?"
-If you want to explore cultures, ideas, and humor.
-If you are Jewish, highly motivated, active, sensitive, mature, and generally fun to be around.

Cheers!!!