Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Pythagoreans

23 M Pasadena, CA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 7
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Strictly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Leo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on space camp
Job
Student
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm an aspiring planetary scientist who likes people and politics, too.

I've always been pretty outdoors-y. I love hiking and camping in the mountains and deserts surrounding LA. My favorite place I've been is Namibia.

I'm trying to be more active in general. Just ran a half-marathon for the first time, and really had fun! I'm planning to run the full 26.2 on July 4 to celebrate America :)

I'm pretty goofy/strange in person, in contrast to my oh-so-serious prose.
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to meet new people! (or, when home alone, reading a lot) Training for my first marathon!

More details: I'm a PhD student in planetary science and an RA for undergrads. I grew up in Indiana and went to college in Connecticut. My stated professional goal is to become a hotshot professor, but we'll see how that turns out...

I'm also a private pilot, flying small airplanes for fun around SoCal. Typical destinations include Catalina, Santa Barbara, Big Bear, Palm Springs, and utterly obscure airports in the desert. The last is my favorite, obvi. I'm working on my instrument rating, which will allow me to fly through (benign) clouds.

I actually have no idea what I'll be doing in 4-5 years, and that's great!
I’m really good at
- Surviving in the woods for months like the kid in Hatchet
- Laughing at my jokes
- Laughing at other people's jokes
- Laughing at myself
- I picked up an EMT license in college. It's expired now, so I'm not legally liable for providing a certain standard of care, but I think I still remember how to do CPR?
The first things people usually notice about me
It's easy for me to get super passionate about ideas.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: All-time favorites include Autobiography of Malcolm X, The Right Stuff, Geek Love, The Wheel of Time, The Plague, The Stranger, the Abhorsen trilogy, and Bird & Sherwin's biography of J. Robert Oppenheimer (my scientific hero). I'm also on a big True Crime kick right now...

Music: The Decembrists, Electric Light Orchestra, Cake, Eminem, The Who, N.W.A., Bowie, The Doors, The Go-Go's, Modest Mouse, Nas, Biggie, 2Pac, OK Go, Rolling Stones, Kanye West

Shows: Doctor Who (!!), X-Files, Sherlock, Top Gear, Battlestar, Firefly

Movies: Dr. Strangelove, The Fifth Element, The Right Stuff, Dungeons & Dragons (so terrible it's great!), Harry Potter, Twilight (ironically...?)

Food: Vegetarian since age 6, but not picky besides this huge restriction!
The six things I could never do without
0. the sky
1. topography
2. flexibility (in work+leisure)
3. version control
4. uncertainty, to a point
5. orders from the mothership
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how I really want two cats, but I travel too much to care for them :(
On a typical Friday night I am
out on the town with whoever's left standing after my department's social hour, unless I'm keeping my head clear in anticipation of an early start to the weekend's adventures.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'd order a fruity cocktail over whisky, any day. No shame :)
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–29
  • Near me
  • For new friends, short-term dating
You should message me if
at least one and a half of the following:
- you think I sound fun
- you're passionate about something
- you don't mind talking about airplanes or science