RThawk12
28 Hyattsville, MD
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
RThawk12
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Grad student, poet, bird-watcher, feminist, oldest of four, half British, half American. I grew up primarily on the Eastern Shore of MD in a very rural area, running around on a friend's farm, swimming in creeks and rivers, and playing with llamas. There is nothing like going barefoot and squishing one's toes in river mud or kayaking under the light of a full moon.

Being outside, in the woods, mountains, especially under a star-studded night, is where I am happiest, though I have come to appreciate what DC offers since living in the DMV for the last few years.

Traveling is in my blood, and I have lived in England, Mexico and Spain. Relationships with friends and family are important to me, and keeping in touch with loved ones who are all over the world. I love all the different connections I make with people where-ever I go.

I identify as queer, and I am glad okcupid finally allows that option! If I were to describe my gender identity it would be woman/tomboy/dyke. I am currently in a relationship (made via OKC connections :) ) and therefore am not looking to date anyone right now, but I am always up for making new friends.
What I’m doing with my life
Getting a phd in Women's Studies, trying to balance academia and life, keeping various house-plants alive and waiting till spring when my strawberry plants will bloom, nurturing relationships with friends.
I’m really good at
identifying birds, listening, writing, kayaking, hanging out with small children, loving animals, saving worms from drowning in puddles, keeping in touch with people, felting and other handicrafts, starting a fire in the rain.

Also bananagrams and Fluxx, I rock at both of those games!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: anything by Tamora Pierce; Stone Butch Blues, Pages for You; Ender's Game; Borderlands: La Frontera; That Takes Ovaries; Dykes to Watch Out For; The Time Traveler's Wife. I recently read Eva Luna by Isabelle Allende and look forward to reading more of her work.

Poets: Seamus Heaney, Mary Oliver, Cornelius Eady, Shara McCallum, Marie Howe, Alice Walker, Adrienne Rich, Audre Lorde, Andrea Gibson, Meredith Davies Hadaway.

TV: Right now, am particularly loving The Fosters and Orphan Black. Older favorites: Farscape, Firefly, Star Trek, The Big Bang Theory, Coupling. Also am a fan of GOT, though I prefer the books in many ways, though in others the show rocks even more--like with Tyrion's character.

Music: Chris Pureka, Brandi Carlile, Tracy Chapman, Missy Higgins, Owl City, Anna Nalick, Martina McBride, Tim McGraw, Ben Howard, Sean Hayes, Fleeted Foxes, Lost in the Trees, Freshlyground, Julieta Venegas, Darius Rucker, Tupac, Kaki King, The Civil Wars, Tegan and Sara, Sara Bareilles, B. Steady and The Lost Bois.

I particularly love country/folk, but like pretty much everything except for metal. I have been discovering a lot of music through OKcupid connections which is awesome. Recently was introduce to CHVRCHES by someone on here, and love their music!
The six things I could never do without
*writing/my journal/poetry

*family and friends

*books

*being able to be outside, especially near water--river, lakes, oceans--

*some manner of communication with long-distance friends and family, be that the telephone, email, Skype (which is awesome), or old fashioned snail mail (which is also awesome. I love getting letters in the mail.)

*some form of movement/exercise/body-work, whether it is running, hiking, walking, swinging, swimming, yoga, bouldering.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
words, language, gender, queerness, privilege, birds, eco-systems, poetry, writing, traveling, children, family, knowledges, space, relationships, friends, memories, my dissertation, what I am going to do after grad school.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends/housemates, going to see a movie, checking out music in DC, catching up on work, creating collages, writing.
You should message me if
-you find my profile interesting and you want to chat. I love meeting new people.

-you want to swap favorite poems/poets.

-you like camping/hiking/running and would like someone to join you for said activities.

-you like DIY crafts and/or would like to learn how to felt.

--you want to meet up for coffee/tea. I am all for exchanging a few messages and I love the written word, but as I hang out more on okcupid I am preferring meet ups over many messages back and forth.
More