49 Oregon City, OR
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Summary: Dr. Who meets James Bond, I'll let you decide which versions of each after we get to know each other.

I love philosophy and history, the outdoors, working out, leaning new things.

I value honor, integrity, intellectual curiosity and independence.

Politics: I seem to have broken the OKCupid algorithm, since it thinks I'm more capitalistic and more progressive.... I treat each issue on it's merits rather than go with any party line.

Bio stuff:
I was born in England.
I have two kids, 13 and 8.
I’m really good at
Being a good friend.
Critical thinking.
Martial arts, Self defence and teaching people those skills.
Tabletop games.
Sounding smarter than I am, I think the accent helps.
The first things people usually notice about me
My accent.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: Anything good... rap is generally not good. Bach is good... Dire Straights is good, as are Anne Lennox, AC/DC, The Decemberists, ZZ Top, Nirvana, Howling Wolf...

Books: Lord of Light by Zelazny, Hitchhikers Guide to the Universe, Patrick O'Brian, Shakespeare, LOTR, TikTok, The Bicentennial Man, Carl Sagen, Hitchens, Dune, A Mote id God's Eye

Movies: The King's Speech, Seven Samurai, Blade Runner, LOTR, Silent Running, Saving Private Ryan, Bram Stoker's Dracula, Collateral, Run Silent Run Deep, The Train, The Matrix, Kill Bill, Master and Commander, Gladiator, Forest Gump, Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels

TV: Game of Thrones (the book to), House, Rome, B5, Farscape, DS9, Call the Midwife,NOVA, Sherlock, Elementary, Game of Thrones, Weeds, Blackadder

Food: Sushi, Steak, Indian, Thai, Chinese, Pizza with anchovies.. I'll try anything.
The six things I could never do without
The outdoors: It's how I recharge my brain.
Reading: How I keep a healthy brain.
Music: ditto.
Painting.. mostly oils.. I'm just a beginner.
Piano: I'm learning to play again (after a very very long break).
On a typical Friday night I am
Out with friends, board-gaming, caching a movie or show, and/or having a beer. Trying out a new restaurant.
You should message me if
You are emotionally mature, smart, interesting.
Bonus points if you hike, climb etc.
More if you know who David Hume is.