Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Real_Genus

46 M Lawrence, KS

My Details

Last Online
Today – 11:55am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Leo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Entertainment / Media
Income
Less than $20,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I’m at a point where I want to have a significant other in my life and stay with that woman indefinitely. While I am content with being alone, I want to share my life with a woman who is compassionate, independent, intelligent, sardonic, edgy, active, physically fit, has a great sense of humor and who is mainly a good person.

I am especially attracted to assertive women. I have a particular weakness for women in uniform, female soccer players and roller derby girls.

I am a liberal and want to be with a woman who shares my views. I pontificate sometimes, but like to keep a sense of humor about my politics.

I love adventure even though I am a creature of habit and love my routine.

I am a pretty good listener, even though I can be quite garrulous at times. I process things verbally, so, please be patient. I am supportive and empathetic and want the same in a partner.

Don't have any tattoos, but admire artistic and well-placed ones.

Love spending a quiet evening at home but also like a night out on the town “cutting a rug.” (I am one of the worst dancers, but I am willing to humiliate myself in public.)

I’m kind of a geek but am somewhat athletic. I exercise regularly, mainly to stay healthy and forestall the onset of all those crazy old-age brain diseases.

I am gregarious, loquacious, and Sicilian
What I’m doing with my life
I recently obtained my MFA in Film from the Univ. of Utah and am now in a PhD program in Film and Media Studies at KU.

Update as of May 2013: I just passed my comprehensive exams and hope to have my dissertation done a year from now. Most likely, I will leave Kansas about that time. I would love to relocate to either one of the coasts, New England, most large urban areas, and pretty much anywhere in California, but this largely depends on where the teaching jobs become available.

I worked many jobs, including being a high school science teacher, stand-up comedian, health inspector and dog track announcer, to name a few, and, after all these experiences, I have never been happier with and more excited about my current career path. I look forward to spending the rest of my life being a filmmaker, screenwriter, film scholar, performer and film educator.
I’m really good at
Taking MENSA exams while drunk, because no matter how poorly I do, I always feel intelligent.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I am a huge Adult Swim cartoon fan, especially Aqua Teen Hunger Force and the Venture Brothers.

I am also a sports fans and am in the process of writing a book in conjunction with my dissertation about how people use social media to participate in the world of sports. Update: I finished my second book and it will be available Feb 2014. http://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&field-author=David%20M.%20Sutera&page=1&rh=n%3A283155%2Cp_27%3ADavid%20M.%20Sutera

Love seeing vintage movies on the big screen and dining out in locally owned restaurants that don't have pictures of food on the menu.

Love art history, especially how it applies to cinema and am a fan of the avant-garde.

Favorite movies: Once Upon a Time in the West. 2001: A Space Odyssey, Planet of the Apes (1968), Annie Hall, any Ingmar Bergman film, especially Persona, Paul Thomas Anderson films, Boogie Nights and Punch Drunk Love, The Graduate, Rushmore and Royal Tennebaums, Singing in the Rain, Mothlight, Un Chien Andalou, Roger and Me and the Star Wars, EP IV, V and VI. There are so many more; I will probably update my list from time to time.

Favorite Music: The Beatles, Echo and the Bunnymen, Mozart, the soundtrack from the Graduate, and many of those crazy 60s songs like the Archies' Sugar Sugar and the Cyrkle's Red Rubber Ball. Also, have been getting into 80s music again (Tears for Fears, Crowded House) and really digging 1970s glam rock bands like Sweet.
The six things I could never do without
Running water, high-speed internet connection, email, and my laptop. Really, I don't know how the world survived without email. Also, I need to exercise everyday, at least some cardio.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My next movie project and my book, which is due soon.
On a typical Friday night I am
Decompressing from the week, which can entail a wide variety of activities.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I pour water on my cereal rather than milk.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 28–50
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You are interested.