Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Redstarcmdr

63 M Oak Park, IL

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 12:02pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
Yes
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other, and laughing about it
Sign
Scorpio, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Read what the critics say about Red Star Commander:
“A keeper” – LA Times
“The most feminist man I’ve ever met.” – The New Yorker

“Smartest person I know.” – Wired Magazine

“Wow!” – USA Today

“Made me laugh until my side hurt!” – The Onion

I am a retired biology professor who still teaches at UIC part time. When I’m not teaching I am usually fixing things around the house or working on one of my ‘green’ energy projects. I’m always tinkering with something. I make soap, biodiesel and candles. To relax, I either watch movies or play my blues guitar.

I have always tried to live up to the principles I formed in my youth. That freedom and creativity are essential for happiness. That quality education and equal opportunity are not just dreams, but basic human rights. That people are more important than money. I reject the ‘every man for himself’ approach to life and believe that only by working together for the good of all will humanity reach its true potential.

Despite being computer savvy, my daughters dragged me into the 21st century kicking and screaming. I have gotten very good at texting because they forced me. They made a Facebook page for me, but I refuse to use it. I like Netflix, but gave up on television in the mid-eighties and haven’t been back. Anything that I want to watch like documentaries, I catch on Netflix or DVDs.

If your idea of a great evening is to see a good play or listen to a great band and then spend the rest of the evening talking about it, I’d like to talk with you.
If you love to play guitar or to listen to the guitar, I’d like to play for you.
If you think there is more to this world than what we can see and touch and more to life than just work and accumulating possessions, I’d like to explore the world with you.
In short, I would like to meet someone who can talk as well as listen, who can give as well as take, who sees life as a journey we can share together.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Being myself. Doing biodiesel. Working on my off-grid log home in Canada. Doing things I never had time for before.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Many things. I like working with my hands as well as my brain. I'm really good at seeing things differently than most. I'm really good at being analytical, but I also think with my heart.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That I am friendly and outgoing.
That I think in ways that most others don't.
That I have long hair and wear tie-dye.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Currently delving into some Umberto Eco. Really like his broad- ranging little intellectual digressions.
Movies - romantic comedies, happy endings. No violence.
Music - blues mostly.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My kids (two grown daughters on their own).
Hope for the just society.
Love.
Coffee.
Chocolate.
My tools.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How to manifest happiness for others and myself.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Searching out interesting weekend activities.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Clean and sober over 25 years.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 37–68
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you find smart, caring, generous and radical men attractive.