Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

RichardBruns

32 College Park, MD Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women who like men
  • Ages 26–36
  • Near me
  • For new friends

My Details

Last Online
Sep 29
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Hispanic / Latin, White
Height
6′ 1″ (1.85m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Politics / Government
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly), Dutch (Poorly), C++ (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Mix 1 cup Intellectual, 1 cup Athlete, 1/2 cup Engineer, 1/2 cup Zen Monk, and 1/2 cup Geek. Spice with 2 tablespoons Artist, 1 tablespoon Hippie, 1 teaspoon Slacker, and a tiny dash of Redneck. Bake for 32 years in the American South.

I am intelligent, healthy, and frugal.

I am a PhD economist and a black belt.

I am Open, Conscientious, Introverted, Agreeable, and Stable.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I am a Staff Economist at the Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition at the FDA. I figure out the likely effects of various rules and agency actions, and work on the teams that write those rules. I worked on the gluten-free labeling rule, the trans fat ban, and the intentional adulteration rule. The job is a mix of science, policy, statistical analysis, and communication. I like it there, and they like me.

I am keeping my life healthy and balanced. My education and career goals have basically been met; I anticipate doing this job for the rest of my life. This means that I can focus on more personal goals.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
my job.
teaching people about science, especially children.
running through forests.
learning new skills, especially games and computer programs.
reducing, reusing, and recycling.
enjoying life.
parkour.
strategy.
tricking, breaking, and cutting up the dance floor.
feeding myself well, conveniently, and cheaply.
hiking up mountains.
not worrying or being anxious.
cooking unusual foods.
eating unusual foods.
picking berries.
focusing intently on a project, and getting things done efficiently.
thinking about the big picture.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
People usually notice that I am very smart. This means that I generate an excellent first impression in professional and academic settings, but it often leads to awkwardness in social settings.

People often see me as intimidating and serious, and this is not entirely wrong. I have an imposing physique and intellect, and a fairly low tolerance for nonsense. I tend to be quiet and polite in order to make other people more comfortable around me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
There are way too many books and authors to list here. I am constantly reading books on science, philosophy, history, technology, and economics.

For pure fun reading, I like science fiction and fantasy. Terry Pratchett is my favorite author. I like short story collections more than novels, and I have a particular fondness for old science fiction short stories.

I hardly ever watch movies, and when I do I tend to prefer independent or foreign movies like Ten Canoes. I did like the
Lord of the Rings trilogy, Serenity, and the original Star Wars trilogy. Treasure Planet was also fun.

Favorite Music:
Anything with no vocals, Gregorian chant, Techno, Civil War songs, traditional Asian music, traditional African music

Favorite Food:
I'll eat anything that is reasonably healthy and did not come out of a factory. I like both exotic stuff and traditional homemade fare. Special favorites are sushi and lasagna.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
oxygen, water, food, sleep, and enough clothing and/or shelter to prevent death from exposure. As far as survival is concerned, everything else is optional.

Now that I've answered the question literally, let me answer in the spirit of the question. Here are the things I need to function well and be content:

Information: I like to consume a steady stream of information, be it from RSS feeds, books, newspapers, magazines, or conversations with intelligent people.

Exercise: I need to be able to move around and burn off energy. I don't like sitting still for too long.

Nature: I like being outside. I like looking at animals and finding interesting plants. If I go too long without sunlight, I am not happy.

Games: I like playing strategy games that test a variety of skills. It is exercise for my brain, and tends to be a great way to spend time with friends.

Quiet Time: I do not like chaotic, noisy and busy environments; I need to be able to relax in a low-stress, comfortable place for at least some of the day.

Healthy Food: I need my veggies and whole grains to feel my best.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
life, the universe, and everything. I am constantly analyzing the world around me and how I fit into it.

To see a sample of my thoughts, you can look at my blog:
Alleged Wisdom
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
doing something random. There is no 'typical' at this point in my life. Often I am just relaxing from a week of work.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I often have trouble dealing with innuendo, dishonesty, teasing, chaotic situations, and loud noises. Although I can function well in most social situations, it is often difficult and unpleasant. However, I can be very social among people who are rational and honest, and I enjoy spending time with them.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you are intelligent, practical, honest, and physically fit.

you like the idea of a first date being a museum trip, picnic, or workout date rather than meeting in a bar or restaurant.