Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

RickInQuest

46 M Redondo Beach, CA

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Asian
Height
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Sales / Marketing
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Thanks for stopping by!

I am in my mid-40's in body, but still feel years if not maybe even decades younger in spirit so to speak, plus being Asian, aging somewhat gracefully, I maintain, that "in the right wrong lighting", I can be mistaken for at least 10 years younger than my age to my peers and counterparts. Or maybe I'm just delusional and my ignorance is my bliss :)

Being an unmarried guy who has always lived an urban metropolitain life in California (born and raised in Nor Cal, now residing in So Cal), although far from a confirmed bachelor (thus being on this site), my social circles span various ethnic cultures, socio-economic groups, as well as age ranges. This is especially true as a result of my profession, in direct response marketing (also known to many as TV Infomercials).

I enjoy development and problem solving. Professionally, working on projects from inception to success (or failure) and the nurturing process to continually seek different ways to meet or beat goals. I've engaged into a mentor or advisor role as an executive, enjoying helping others. Socially, I enjoy competition as well, like Fantasy Football leagues. I Like companionship, whether for fitness activities, dining or running each others day to day errands.

I've answered over "1,001" of OK CUPID's "Questions" and for each and every one, I've taken the time to "Explain your Answer" to qualify my response with some rationalization since I don't like standardized testing and enjoy more open ended questions you can creatively answer. Check 'em out and see where we might match or have compatible philosophies...
What I’m doing with my life
I've spent the greater part of my life developing myself through education and professionally, somewhat neglecting the social aspects of life, thus entering the online world.

I'm open minded to a degree to try new things, and in that way, am looking to expand my world by someone sharing theirs and finding new activities, experiences and interests.

My life mantra is "Leave everything you touch and everyone you encounter, in a better condition from which you first found it" - so, I always seek to cultivate and improve myself and my surroundings. I've been a part of mentoring programs and enjoy the nurturing process of helping others.
I’m really good at
Problem solving, blending both creative and logic into a situation. I am sort of an emotional empath, so often times the difference maker in how I approach things is with a higher level of humanity and compassion.

I'm decent at some sports. I'm born to be a DH, since I can hit a ball for a high batting average, but seem to have poor depth perception in the field, so can't catch worth a lick. I own 3 bowling balls, once for strikes and another for picking up spares, yet I've not gone bowling but maybe 5 times in the last 10 years, since nobody seems to like to go. I enjoy walking and hiking with a desire to do some light bouldering to eventually build to full on rock climbing. I'm more of an outdoor social activity person than a gym enthusiast. I've launched and managed home fitness equipment and video campaigns selling millions products through the years through TV infomercials.
The first things people usually notice about me
I am not sure, since I'm not a mind reader... The only way to find out it to contact me (and then meet me which is where you'll get a better and more accurate 1st impression!), then you can tell me the first thing you noticed about me, so I can fill this section out with real testimonials :)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I notice a lot of girls / women on online dating sites enjoy drinking Coffee, tasting Wine, and listening to the NPR while doing yoga. Those not exactly on my list, but I do believe there's a "Yin" to a girl's "Yang" in that not every single interest needs to be shared in order to be compatible and it's good to have a few differences we can call our own, as well as stuff we can share or introduce to one another to expand each others horizons. Here's mine:

BOOK(s) - I don't read books recreationally very often, but have enjoyed "Freakanomics" and "Makes Me Wanna Holler" (by Nathan McCall), as I tend to enjoy biographical or factual based books. Contrary to that, however I enjoy reading simple comic books (like "The Walking Dead") as well as trashy pop culture and entertainment magazines n' tabloids, as well as stories on the Internet.

MOVIE(s) - I'm not huge into the movie theater experience, as I inevitably am always the one sitting in front of a seat kicker or near a neighboring chatterbox, plus sometimes think it's a less than social activity. I do enjoy a good story with likable characters, be it action/adventure, science fiction/fantasy, comedy, romance or drama, including a feel good romantic comedy or so called chick-flick once in a while too. I can be fairly low-brow in my tastes, since I often times see movies as a form of entertainment, more so than introspective or thought provoking art. I generally like positive and upbeat films more than anything dark and disturbing, 'tho enjoy things that can be thought provoking. Some of my favorite movies that are maybe less known titles to the mainstream include: "A Better Tomorrow"; "Drop Dead Fred"; "Police Story"; "Bed of Roses"; "Gorgeous"; "Hiding Out"; "Legacy of Rage"; and "Career Opportunities."

SHOW(s) - I'm assuming this is TV, not theater. I try not to put myself into situations where I'm held hostage to programming and the cliffhangers, with that, I prefer to watch shows on DVD where I can crank out marathon sessions rather than watch week to week. I did watch "Revolution" from the current TV season. Otherwise, some of my more favorite series either ongoing or of the past includes: "Mad Men", "How I Met Your Mother", "The Big Bang Theory", "Las Vegas", "Veronica Mars", "Tru Calling", "The Dollhouse", "Buffy the Vampire Slayer", "Angel", "Gilligan's Island", and most sit-coms. I also find myself enjoying watching the local news most often.

MUSIC - I do enjoy a diverse range spanning decades from the 1950's to present pop, as well as niche genres like AOR/Classic Rock, R&B/Soul, Hip Hop, Dance, Alternative/Modern Rock, and most mainstream or crossover radio hits. If you have a mega mix or mash-up that's executed properly, you'll get my attention. I used to work at a radio station in marketing and promotions doing contests and special events.

FOOD - I'm fairly basic in my tastes, the standard American fare of a steakhouse (Cut, Ruth Chris, The Palm, Flemmings, Mortons, and Maestro's) or seafood always does the trick. I also enjoy what may be wide to some and limited to others, range of specialty or ethnic cuisines. My favorites includes some of the following: Japanese Sushi (Sugarfish and Nagao); Chinese (Din Tai Fung); Korean (AYCE BBQ's); Italian; Brazilian (Fogo De Chao & Mexican (El Burrito Jr.) and a few others. Other than on pizza, I'm not a fan of cheese, and despite also not enjoying mushrooms, I can be a fungi ("fun guy" get it?)...
The six things I could never do without
I'm not sure if these were supposed to be material possessions or not. So, I'll answer this with that in mind.

1) Communication - my phone, email, and/or in-person, accessibility to social interaction. I enjoy the the back and forth banter, as well as having good listening skills.

2) Freedom - the ability to do things without limitations.

3) Transportation - I need (and have of course) a car, especially being in a metropolitan area like Southern California and the ability to go where I need to, when I want to. I also like walking a lot as well as flying (other than the hassles and production behind getting through the airport).

4) Diversity - sort of like freedom, the availability of choice, and both the excitement of what is new along with the reliability of what is tried and true. I like this aspect of living in an urban environment, surrounded by different cuisines and activities to indulge in.

5) Family - you are either born into this or create your own, but there's an inherent sense of unconditional loyalty and nurturing that comes with this.

6) Friends - you have certain family whether you like it or not, but you choose your friends, so this is an important aspect of relationship building and socialization.

7) ...the ability to list a 7th "thing" if I wanted to, Going back to my #2, Freedom...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to continually find ways to improve both things around me and within me.

Am I a butterfly dreaming he's a man, or a man dreaming he is a butterfly?
On a typical Friday night I am
...hoping someone comes up with a good plan, or is available and we'll brainstorm together on something to do.

I don't have any typical activities, but we all have to eat, so, the odds are, I'm going out for dinner.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I once worked on the M.C. Hammer music video "U Can't Touch This"

I'm a somewhat private person, so anything else odd, interesting, scandalous or intimate, you'll have to either ask me about, or just have fun finding out...
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–45
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex
You should message me if
You believe in the "it's a day in the life" philosophy of being open minded and giving everything, including online dating, a 100% effort, knowing it's just as important to experience what you may not think you like, in order to find out what you like. It's simply a message, no obligations to say "hello" and check in... That's what we're all on this site for.