32 Washington, DC
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I've been in the DC area for a long time and yet I've never had any "normal" DC political / non-profit / government jobs. Instead I'm an interactive designer who makes comics for fun.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm co-own a design firm and have a lot of creative side projects. I bike to get around and go to the gym/yoga/run when I can. But hopefully not run much because running hates my feet (or my feet hate running). Fueled by coffee and bourbon, but not both at the same time generally.
I’m really good at
making horrible (wonderful?) puns at the wrong time, making coffee at the right time and finding something to do most of the time. Knowing a little bit about a lot of things (I'm great at trivia night).

I'll talk to most people about just about anything.
The first things people usually notice about me
My inability to stop making jokes in most social situations. Or maybe my eyes?

Nope the jokes thing.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
READING: Some all-time favorites include The Cheese Monkeys, Snow Crash, Catch-22, Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, and Understanding Comics. I try to trade off between "fun" books and "smart" books. Try Box Office Poison, it's amazing.

MOVIES: Marx Brothers movies, When Harry Met Sally, Black Dynamite, Brick, lots of sci-fi and most Aaron Sorkin. I have been a part of and attended many midnight showings of Rocky Horror.

SHOWS: I keep up on a lot of TV while I'm doing other things. Orphan Black, The Good Wife, and lots of British mysteries. I can't stand Big Bang Theory. Have you seen Steven Universe? If you have, definitely message me.

PODCASTS (yep, threw those in too): How Did This Get Made, Reply All, Radiolab, 99% Invisible, Harmontown, Sklarboro Country, and My Brother My Brother and Me.

MUSIC: Soul, Jazz, Garage Rock, Downtempo, and a leftover teenage love of ska and punk, and an odd fascination with cover songs.

FOOD: Great coffee. I like to eat out and try new things, but love a really good PB&J. I like to cook but rarely by myself. And pie. I have a severe weakness for pie.
The six things I could never do without
My bike, coffee from Filter Coffeehouse, my iPhone, a sketchbook, friends, and a 10-story robot.

I don't yet own the robot but once I do, how could I live without it?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
creative ideas and what to do with them. I'm always scheming something.
On a typical Friday night I am
I'm grabbing drinks with friends, possibly on a rooftop, somewhere with a good beer selection or at least a pretty good bourbon. Unless it's been a really terrible week, then on the couch catching up on my Hulu/Netflix queue with the previously mentioned bourbon. Currently that's most of Gilmore Girls (but before that it was The Wire).

Some weeks I'm MC-ing in a live action art competition that I help run with some very talented friends. We do shows up and down the east coast (coming to The Black Cat hopefully again in December).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've been playing Destiny on the PS4 with some friends lately. I'm not proud of it but a friend worked on the game and got a bunch of us playing. Beyond my knowledge of TV theme songs, this is probably the worst thing I have going for me right now.
You should message me if
you have opposable thumbs and free will.

Also, WMATA or GTFO (in other words, I don't have a car, and if you're not accessible without one that's a problem).