Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

SVSocrates

48 M Menlo Park, CA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 7:04pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Leo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Other
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Me, in a paragraph? Lofty "life-statements" are a bit tricky, but here goes: I strive for balance in my life and I value that trait in the people I know. One way that plays out for me is by being "into" a variety of things--biking, wine, cooking, competitive car-singing (j/k), snark? -- but not any single one so much that it defines my life. Here's a mash-up:

I read the NY Times editorials but also peruse The Onion; I listen to NPR in one minute and switch to a country station and sing along in the next; I have no compunction about dropping a word like "compunction" in conversation if it's appropriate on the one hand, but use the expression "No way, dude" all too often on the other. Get the picture? =)

*This is where a super-smooth segue should go, but I got nuthin'!*

I am also family-oriented, i.e. I want to have a family, and care a lot about the people in my life.

Hmm...What else? Well, I am smart (intellectually and emotionally), romantic, compassionate, and funny (and humble? ;-P ) and I believe that many of the challenges we face could be fixed if we'd all just be a little less selfish and a bit more willing to sacrifice for the sake of one another. How's that for a "show-stopping big finish?" Be sure to tip your waitperson ;-)
What I’m doing with my life
Working hard and trying to "make it happen." I own and operate a small education services business and I love what I do. I wear many "hats" at work, including owner, manager, and tutor/mentor (sometimes one may fit more comfortably than another - more on that later). Working with students keeps me young and hip (at least, that's what I tell myself) and trying to grow the business challenges me every day.
I’m really good at
Expressing myself. I have been told that I have "good command of language."

Putting myself in someone else's shoes before I react and having insight into why people may act the way that they do in a situation.

Shattering people's stereotypes about what it means to be on the north side of 40.

Making people laugh.
The first things people usually notice about me
That whole "command of language" thing I mentioned above seems to be a biggie, I'm told. I'm also told that I am warm and gregarious and very good at making people feel welcome.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: "Me Talk Pretty One Day" - David Sedaris. "Mindsight" - Daniel Siegel, MD. "A General Theory of Love" - Lewis, Amini and Lannon, MDs.

A Smattering of Movies: Inception, Garden State, Aliens, The Departed, Talladega Nights, Love Actually, Hi-Fidelity . . . the list is endless!

TV Shows: The Daily Show, The Colbert Report, Modern Family, Big Bang Theory, Community, Parks and Rec, Mad Men, Bones.

Music: I like a little bit of everything, except rap and speed
metal. I even like country, just not the twangy, redneck-patriotic,
we'll put a boot-in-your-ass kind. I have also become disturbingly addicted to karaoke. =)

Food: Pizza, pasta, real Southern-bbq and hamburgers. Come to papa! Am also very appreciative of "high cuisine" (one of my good friends is a professional chef).
The six things I could never do without
(In no particular order):

Friends.
Sleep.
Emotional Intelligence.
Sunshine.
Laughter.
Wine.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
(In no particular order):

- Ways to grow my business.
- Ways to create a sense of "community."
- My "future" life when I will learn to play the guitar and become a great salsa dancer. ;-)
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually out with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
There is a somewhat soft spot in my heart for kitschy British pop music. There, I said it. So embarrassing. Happy now?!
I’m looking for
  • Straight girls only
  • Ages 34–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
The words "wholesome intellectual" describe you and you like to
laugh. How's that for being direct and to the point? :)

My match has a good heart and mind and is honest and sincere in her words, but isn't so serious as to be condescending. I tend to be attracted to "girly girls," but not so girly that putting on a pair of jeans and a baseball cap seems like donning a costume to you. Having a good sense of humor and loving to laugh are big pluses as well.

It's also important to me to be with someone that is active (but that doesn't mean I am looking for someone with whom I can run marathons or always be "training.") and devoted to developing some common interests with me. That's not to say we should like ALL the same things. I hope I can bring new things to your world and would be happy to learn some new ones from you as well.

Above all, I want someone with whom to share LIFE'S journey. I'll be WAAAAY more impressed by someone that has taken the time and done the work to visit the deep parts of her own soul than by someone that has visited multiple countries. In other words, be the proverbial yin to my yang. ;-)

Sound like you? Well, what are you waiting for? Drop me a line!