43 Milwaukee, WI
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Before I get started, let me say up front that I am actively seeking someone to have a relationship with. This means I want be be involved with someone on an active basis. My life commitments do not eat up all of my time, and I feel it is important to make time for someone new in my life if we get along well. So if you lead an extremely busy lifestyle and are not able to make the time to be available, or worse if you simply choose not to make the time, then please do not waste MY time. I don't like being led on, and I don't like being left hanging and being the only one making all the effort at communication and interaction.

Also, while I do not expect to find someone whose interests match mine 100%, there are some big areas of my life that mean a lot to me - my writing, my games and my games-creating, music, science fiction and fantasy.... I need a relationship with someone who accepts these things and at least finds them of interest. If they hold no interest for you to the point you're closed-minded about them and I feel like I cannot share them, but I have to be interested in the things that make YOU happy, then please move on right now. I'm here to share and learn, not to have my interests and my spirit ground down because someone wants me to sublimate my needs for theirs. Sorry to have this at the start of my profile, but this is extremely important.

Now then...

In 2012 I moved to Milwaukee, WI, starting my life over and wanting to do it right, and I'd love to find someone special to share the good times with. I've been burned badly in the past, emotionally and financially, but I have not given up hope. I still dream.

I am 5'6", have long wavy brown hair and brown eyes. Working on my weight and fitness.

First off, I am a serious geek boy - science fiction, fantasy, comics (when I can afford them). I read, watch and write it (and trying to get published as well!). I'm also a serious card and board games enthustiast, and am working on developing my own creations! I've been rated QLBM by the The Social Persona test. However, I have eccelctic interests beyond the geeky - bowling, woodcrafting, walks, stargazing, cooking, dancing, theater, museums, live baseball (once in a while anyway), mini golf, music, dogs (and I have some tolerance of cats if they are friendly and their home is clean).

Things outside of my hobbies that are important to me:

You must have a sense of humor and an imagination!!! Smart and witty are sexy!

I am seeking someone who is not into playing games with emotions, someone who is honest, someone who is not a drama queen. It's one thing to have problems, even big tough ones that cause stress, but it's another thing to make every little thing its own soap opera!

Body type I am totally flexible on. I don't mind if you're fit and athletic or a homebody with some padding. A pretty face, a warm smile, a sharp wit and a good heart are what I need most. Goth or alternative decor like piercings and tattoos are ok, I've come to appreciate them even if they aren't my own personal style. I have no preference for hair color or skin color - white, black, Latino, Asian, native american, green with purple spots from Mars (actually, that would be kinda cool...)

I am liberal (an independent), non-religious with a Jewish background. I don't mind if you have beliefs of your own (Christian, Jewish, Pagan, Flying Spaghetti Monster, whatever), as long as you don't expect me to take second place to your relationship with God or expect me to live my life according to your beliefs. If you list God, Jesus or Faith in your "six things you can't do without," please look elsewhere.

I don't smoke or do drugs. I have not touched alcoholic drinks in over ten years, but I am considering allowing myself to try a little wine or home-brewed concoctions on special occasions once again. (My not-drinking was just a personal decision; I am not an alcoholic - hell, I've never even been drunk!) I need someone who also does not smoke (not even 420 - I can't stand the smell and taste, never mind the legal concerns). Light social drinking is okay as long as that's all it is; if you feel a need to get smashed on a regular basis, I want no part of it.

This next part I am always nervous about, but I need to be honest about it: I am not looking to have kids of my own and after too many bad experiences I would prefer to be involved with a woman who does not have children either. If you have children and they are all grown, or at least college age, that's okay, that's an age range I can relate with. But younger than that, I've just had far too much difficulty. So if you are looking for someone to be a new father figure, your best bet is to look elsewhere. Even if you just want me to be a friend, I'm just too soured on it by the experiences I've had. Nothing personal against you, or even against your children. It's just something I am painfully aware that I do not have in me.

Now, if you're still reading...

I am heteroflexible (95% straight, flexible but picky on the rest). I have a healthy libido and like to try things, and do not care for prudish types. (I have my own limits and comfort zones, of course, but I tend to be open-minded more about sex than I am about, say, food. "Calamari? Turnips? Head cheese? EW... You want me to put what in where?? Ok!")

A note on this: I am also a very loyal lover, and honest. So if you have concerns that my not being 100% heterosexual means you won't be "enough" for me, or if my minimal involvement with men in the past shocks or angers you or otherwise makes you uncomfortable - don't even try talking to me. Don't waste my time. Just don't bother. I am not here to be judged or evaluated in that regard. I am what I am. There's nothing wrong with me, I don't need "help" or "saving" or "changing", nor am I "undecided." End of speech.

All I can think of to say here. If you have questions, please feel free to ask me. If I haven't scared you off by now, then maybe you're ready to take a flight of fancy together?
What I’m doing with my life
Mainly I am looking for long-term work (currently working part time in the billing department of a medical home care company). Aside from that I keep busy with reading, movies, crafting projects, and generally trying to stay hopeful about the future!
I’m really good at
Writing gonzo comedy stories... crafting chessmen... playing word games... quoting sci-fi films (especially the funny stuff)... identifying actors in a tv show or movie who have also done Star Trek (i.e. there are at least six in The Hunt for Red October).
The first things people usually notice about me
My long wavy hair.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books and movies: I'm a huge science fiction and fantasy fan. Authors I love include Arthur C. Clarke, Esther Friesner, Diane Duane, Peter David, Kim Harrison, Roger Zelazny, Robert Asprin, Aaron Allston, William Mark Simmons, among others. Films... so many but the top ones for me are Contact, Paul, Marvel's The Avengers, the original Star Wars, The Englishman Who Went Up A Hill But Came Down A Mountain, The Cheap Detective, Superman, 2010 (the sequel to 2001: A Space Odyssey), and just about all the Star Trek movies (number 5 is a bit of an exception).

Shows: Been many over the years, again mostly sci-fi. Current ones include The Big Bang Theory, Castle, Doctor Who, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Elementary, Arrow and Lost Girl, plus a couple other shows on extremely long hiatuses. I also enjoy a few radio shows on NPR stations - Wait Wait Don't Tell Me, A Prairie Home Companion, plus Celtic music and ambient/new age music programs I can't seem to find here in the midwest, only on streaming online radio from back east.

I also love Carl Sagan's "Cosmos", both the television documentary series and the book version, as well as the recent new series with Neil DeGrasse Tyson. If I have anything even remotely resembling a personal "bible," that would be it (even though Sagan was definitely an atheist and I am an uncertain agnostic).

Music: Pop/rock, jazz, classical/Baroque, celtic, new age, filk (that's not a typo), Broadway, a smattering of others. Specific artists include Weird Al, Billy Joel, Enya, Blackmore's Night and my all-time favorite female vocalist, Heather Dale.

Food: chinese, thai, italian, greek, mexican, and anything chocolate (especially chocolate and peanut butter!!).

Games: Have to include this as there are many: Munchkin, Scattergories, Boggle, Scrabble, Monopoly (especially alternate versions of the game), Fluxx (especially Star and Monty Python varieties), Carcassone, Chrononauts, Stratego, Upwords, Tic Tac Chec, Guillotine, Cathedral, Trivial Pursuit, Rummy-O, Mancala, Cards Against Humanity (funniest party game EVER), Razzle Dazzle (chess meets basketball - yes, seriously!), and I will play actual ordinary chess once in a while. I also like Words with Friends on Facebook and Plants vs Zombies on my computer, and going out for mini-golf and bowling now and then.
The six things I could never do without
In no particular order:

1. Chocolate
2. Women
3. Science fiction and fantasy
4. Dogs (even if I don't have one myself, just having them in the world is important)
5. Games
6. My writing
7. music (ok, ok, so it's more than just 6 things)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I think my six-things list covers this one ;)
On a typical Friday night I am
Staying in to watch a dvd or play a game on the computer or read a book, or going out to hang at the local geek bar or get together with friends for gaming. I'd go to the movies except I prefer matinees (cheaper than evening shows). I don't usually go to normal bars or clubs, except the local geek bar, as I don't fit in well in those places. And going to a concert, a theater show or a ball game is a rare, expensive treat (and I'm admittedly picky about music concerts/music festivals).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have what I call the "Clouseau gene." I am clumsy and accident-prone. (If you don't know who Clouseau is, consult the Pink Panther movies starring Peter Sellers.)
You should message me if
You are looking for someone to share life experiences with, both yours and mine...
You are looking for a man of keen mind and good heart...
You have an imagination and aren't loving la viva mundania...
You have an open mind...
You have passion and a naughty streak...
You value the intangible treasures of life over material things...
You feel there's a chance worth taking.