Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Salisen

23 M London, UK

My Details

Last Online
Today – 11:30am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Libra
Education
Working on university
Job
Student
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Scientist, engineer and geek rolled into one. Thinking about it, the first two of those make me a bit of a nerd too.

I love building things out of electronics, reading entire fantasy books in a single session, wandering around woods, and doing really, really silly things in tabletop roleplaying games (when I can get away with it), amongst other things.

Technically I don't live in London just yet, but I live so near to HS1 that I essentially do in terms of time.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I finished a degree in Physics at Warwick last year, and I've done two engineering internships since then (industrial experience, ho!). In September/October I'll be moving into London to start a PhD in Optical Communications.

In the meantime I'm living in North-West Kent and catching up on various things I want to do while I've got the time- learn some new piano pieces, complete some games, and read through some of my 'to-read' backlog.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
I'm pretty good at actually staying on the track on Rainbow Road (drive slowly, but not too slow!).

I play some piano too, mostly Ragtime.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have a Finnish name. Almost no-one pronounces it right first time. The same questions are asked every time - initial small talk with me is ridiculously easy as a result.

I'm usually wearing some sort of band or artworked covered t-shirt too. I've got loads- I've got a Flogging Molly t-shirt covered in pirate ships, a Hitchhiker's t-shirt detailing the story of the poor rapidly falling whale, and a Portal t-shirt with the famous poetic eulogy on the back.

If I'm at a party, probably the baking tray of brownies I've just cooked and brought along (they say alcohol is a great social lubricant - well, don't underestimate the power of brownies).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: I love reading, particularly fantasy. A Song of Ice and Fire probably tops the list at the moment, but I'm also a pretty big fan of the Discworld series (I've went to the Discworld Convention a couple of years ago). I also love pretty much anything by Brandon Sanderson (the man is a machine, he writes like the wind). I also love anything by Douglas Adams (The Bistromathic drive! http://grooveshark.com/#!/s/The+Bistromathic+Drive/bmpK8?src=5 ).

Webcomics: I follow a couple- XKCD for the Science jokes, Order of the Stick for Belkar's rather disruptive evil tricks, Romantically Apocalyptic and Stupid Fox for the incredibly large amount of silliness. I've also been meaning to read through Homestuck, but that's kind of long...

Films: Well, I'm particularly fond of anything fantasy, comic related or sci-fi (Lord of the Rings, Guardians of the Galaxy, Original Star Wars Trilogy), and the work of Studio Ghibli (Spirited Away is probably my favourite of their work). I'm gradually working my way through the IMBD top 50 too.

Shows: I don't watch a great deal of TV at the moment, but when I do, I'm usually watching Game of Thrones. That said, I love British comedy- Black Books, Fawlty Towers, Black Adder, The IT Crowd and Red Dwarf rank amongst my favourite TV shows of all time.

Anime/Manga: Fate/Zero, Full Metal Alchemist, Attack on Titan, Cowboy Bobpop, amongst others.

Music: punk, ska, power metal and rock. E.g. Rise Against, Less Than Jake, Sonata Arctica, ALESTORM (!) and Dire Straits.

Food: that chocolate melt desert that Zizzi's sells...

Games: my interests in gaming are far and wide, though my favourites include the Legend of Zelda series, Final Fantasy, Portal and Bastion. Generally, the prettier a game is, the more likely it is that I'll like it. I enjoy following developments in the gaming industry too, and watching silly things like this- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xJBXMdtUPPE
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
• A screwdriver.
• My keyboard.
• Dihydrogen monoxide.
• My bookshelf (filled with books).
• Steam.
• The existence of cats on the internet.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
The Question to Life the Universe and Everything- we already know the answer is 42. I guess it's 6*7 though...
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
It varies - it depends a lot on what's on. Generally though I'm most inclined to read a book, play a game with my friends or go for a walk in a nearby park.

This will almost certainly change once I'm living in London, once I'm surrounded by things to do and see.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I actually cannot correctly pronounce my name. It has a rolled r, and I can't pronounce rolled r's. Oh dear...
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 19–25
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
More than anything else, I'm here to meet lovely like-minded people for dates or such in London, to talk about weird and wonderful things.