Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


67 Brisbane, Australia Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 47–72
  • Near me
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 4:51am
Relationship Type
Mostly monogamous
5' 9" (1.75m)
Body Type
A little extra
Not at all
Atheism and laughing about it
Has kids and doesn’t want more
Has cats
English (Fluently)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Gentle sapiophilic sensitive honest shortish sometimes hairy faced enigmatic smart alec taciturn yet tactile sailor seeks trust romance passion mental engagement and fun.

I'm quite a smarty pants, and was a Mensan for a while, too many goatees and bow ties for mine. I have an enquiring mind and an extensive general knowledge ( a head full of trivia). I'd call myself a man for all seasons, but look what happened to him.

Time away on land or water has great appeal, as does travel. So many places so little time.

I'm quite a young 67, and have two sons aged 13 and 11 I care for on three afternoons per week. Generous colleagues and friends say I'm more like 50 (my sons' mother is 19 years my junior) and I have no intention of retiring for at least two years, when I will be able to do so reasonably comfortably. Oops, just been made redundant, such is the lot of your humble civil servant these days.

I can be quite quirky, complex at times, and childlike at others. I posses a sharp wit and a broad sense of humour, including a range of appalling 'dad' jokes e.g. 'I'm hungry' 'Hi hungry, I'm Czechoslovakia'. Or, which knight invented the round table? It was, of course, Sir Cumference.

LOVE Sailing, and was an award winning navigator. My Sydney to Hobart days are behind me, but I still harbour the notion that one day I'll get to sail round Cape Horn. Currently shopping for another yacht..update, bought a 31' trimaran! Have recently engaged in Karate with number one son and am enjoying the benefits of that and cycling with both of them.

Finally, I am the father of two very fine young boys, 11 and 13, whose care well being and education are naturally very important to me. It seems I also need to say here that I'm not looking for a mother for them, they already have a very good one of those.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm on a voyage of self discovery, I don't drink but don't mind at all if you do, I'm not a wowser and happy to be the permanent dedicated driver, changed my eating habits for the better, exercise regularly, lost 5kg already and still dropping, bought a push bike to go with the motor bike, and have also just purchased a 31' trimaran. I meditate occasionally via an app on my iPad.
I'm into mindfulness and meditation, motorcycles, ephemera and sailing. I love nature, both panoramic and detailed and enjoy sharing the wonder of living things.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
I always put the seat down, I squeeze the tube from the bottom, never drink from the carton, will open the door for you but only if you want that, and most importantly hang the roll so the paper comes over the top.

...but I'm over my need to colour match pegs to clothes, though the pegs themselves still should match each other. (Update: I have noticed recently that this doesn't seem to be as important and now doesn't always happen, are my standards slipping I wonder.)
I am also thoroughly house trained, handy, and can cook fairly well (mostly from a book).
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
here's a precis of how 12 diverse people described me when asked by a 3rd party:
Caring and thoughtful,
honest caring and kind,
intelligent sweet resilient,
sense of adventure,
quiet and friendly,
nice and friendly,
gentle and thoughtful,
lovely warm hearted articulate and intelligent,
distinguished and intelligent,
a genuine kind caring man.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
My catholic musical tastes range from classical through jazz and blues to adult contemporary. Partial to big bands and lady vocalists like Billie Ella and Patsy. Listen to ABC FM, 97.3. Those who claim not to like Country should sample 98.9, it isn't all 'she got the gold mine and I got the shaft' stuff.
Concerts seen lately were The Tallis Scholars, Bjorn Again, and Leonard Cohen. Also At Last the Etta James story and recently the Grimethorpe Colliery band (think Brassed Off)

I read a lot of Law for work (but not a lawyer, phew), science fiction, travel, Sydney Morning Herald on-line, Trade-A-Boat, junk mail. I shy away from airport authors and works but like to sample from genres so read Donaldson and Tolkien. Roald Dahl's childrens' books are fun. Currently reading book three of the Catching Fire trilogy with my boys.
Love Galaxy Quest, but all time fave movie is Brief Encounter, the perfect combination of Noel Coward's wonderful words and David Lean's cinematic brilliance, and recently named I was pleased to see in the top 10 movies of all time. Recently seen Toy Story 3 (yes I blubbed), How to Train Your Dragon 1 and 2, Where the Wild Things Are, Despicable Me (twice). More recently the first two parts of Hunger Games, Meatball 2, The Lego Movie, A trend? Not averse to a chic flick either, cried at The English Patient, how could you not. Watch very little TV, Media Watch (I used to be in the commercial TV business), Q&A, Mad as Hell, Clarke and Dawe.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Words & Numbers
A conscience
The necessities of life
The touch of another
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Oh the political compass (Google it) I fall between Gandhi and the Dalai Lama, and have a social conscience that compels action, e.g. World Vision, Avaaz, Sea Shepherd, Get Up etc. One of my daughters works for Medcins sans Frontieres, bless her.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
at home, probably on the internet or stargazing and contemplating the cosmos
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I sometimes wee in the shower, but other than that and despite what the personality thing says, I have impeccable manners, thank you.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You think sailing is sexy, and if you like the fact that I am positive, passionate and provident and want to share those qualities to the benefit of the lady I would love.
Mutual respect, and still holding hands at 90. Is that too much to ask?
No, it isn't.