SeamusWilly
47 Providence, RI
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
SeamusWilly
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an outgoing, empathetic guy trying to keep my sense of humor intact while stresses of life swirl about. I'm fun, funny, grateful, liberal, and mature. I've hiked hundreds and have sailed thousands of miles & play the guitar (for personal enjoyment only!). I joke around and am serious. I am very active, but I can chill out and relax. I've been married, heartbroken, and divorced, and I've grown & now know more about myself and who I'm looking for...and I'm willing to work for it. My mettle has been tested, and I have kicked a$$.

[Disclaimer: As clever as I may be, my username is not a double entendre. Seamus Willy was my dog (and best friend), and it seemed like an easy user name to use.]
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a bilingual attorney, and I've established a non-profit organization dedicated to helping refugees, asylees, and other immigrants. During my off-time, I like to get out, enjoy the company of my family & friends, hiking & sailing. I've been lucky enough to have lots of family time with my folks & my sister's family.
I’m really good at
I'm a damn good listener, a pretty decent sailor, and I make a hellova frozen strawberry daiquiri on demand.
The first things people usually notice about me
My spirit. Definitely. I'm expressive and extroverted.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books, books, books! I'm an avid reader - and more so in the winter months. My kindle and I are pretty much inseparable, and I will hike anywhere with that 7.5oz piece of awesomeness in my bag.

For the last year or so I've really been on a non-fiction kick. Lots of humorous memoirs...Jenny Lawson, Simon Pegg, Craig Ferguson, Chelsea Handler...and on.

Some random favorites: Let's Pretend This Never Happened; Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy; A Year Before the Mast; Devil in the White City; Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas; Player Piano by Kurt Vonnegut; Notes From a Small Island by Bill Bryson...and so much more literary awesomeness that I can't fit it all here.

I don't have a functioning TV. I'll watch random Netflix and other things my quirky smart friends forward to me - but it is not a priority. I pine for Colbert & mourn the future loss of John Stewart. John Oliver a new love...such in-depth research...*swoon*.

Music figures prominently, and I like most genres. Blues (at the top). Rock. Alternative. Jazz. On my recent playlists...Snow Patrol, Walter Trout, The Band, CSNY, Delta Spirit, Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin (LOVE LOVE!), The Hold Steady, and anything that my friends throw at me as recommendations. If you have some, please share!
The six things I could never do without
Material: the outdoors, craft beer, my passport, sunscreen, a good pair of boots & a cheap pair of flip-flops.

Immaterial: Laughter, good health, family, good friends, a sense of humor, the love of a dog.

Things I COULD do without: driving (I hate it), mean people - online and offline, Faux News, and the standards of fashion mags. Screw that.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My next adventure, and am I doing this online crap right?
On a typical Friday night I am
Socializing with friends and family, pitching my tent at a remote site, jamming with my guitar buddies, and sharing time with a SO in the future.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I can not do interior design to save my life.
You should message me if
You laugh a lot and enjoy life on your own terms. You are reasonably well read. You love being active and outside. You love dogs. You enjoy the company of men (not boys) that treat people well.

You should pass me over if you don't like the outside or dogs, if you watch TV all the time, or if you are a member of the right...
More