Sidonis
31 San Francisco, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Sidonis
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am currently dating aminoup, who is quite incredible. However, I'm still looking for cool folks to hang out with and I'm always down to chat with interesting people on the internet.

Someone on the internet wrote a song about my OkCupid profile. What. ( http://tannerturner.bandcamp.com/track/in-the-darkest-part-of-the-deepest-ocean-sidonis-the-most-mystical-of-beasts-grew-lonelier-as-the-eons-etched-by-but-one-day-he-created-an-okcupid-profile-and-searched-high-and-low-for-love-and-o )

I'm a foodie, addicted to books and obscure music, an ex-scuba diver (not by choice), and really enjoy the fact that I can truthfully say the sentence "Before I moved to Costa Rica, when I was dealing cards at the underground burlesque joint." I'm still trying to figure out how to fit Japan in there somewhere.

I enjoy language, wordplay, math, logic, absurdity, beer, and spontaneous adventures.
What I’m doing with my life
Travelling and clicking buttons on the internet. It's pretty fantastic. High on the list to visit: Uruguay, Thailand, Mongolia. Planning a trip on the trans-Siberian railroad from Vladivostok to somewhere in Europe.

Istanbul was amazing. You should go. Portugal might have been more amazing than Istanbul.

Right at this instant I'm using Japan as a base from which to work and visit many of the other Asian countries, because Asia is nifty. Also waiting for the US to legalize my job again. This is out of date, as I've now seen most of Asia and am sick of it. Need to move to Europe.
I’m really good at
clicking buttons on the internet in return for money and attempting to share really obscure music with all my friends. Nesting parentheses. Sharing underappreciated finds in the world of books, music, and adventures.
The first things people usually notice about me
I might be the tallest person in Nagoya. If there's someone here who's taller than I am, I haven't seen them yet. People routinely stare at me and then say something about basketball players. Small children flee in terror.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Authors -- I read a LOT. A lot. Many of my attitudes and opinions on life are strongly influenced by the books of Robert Heinlein, Spider Robinson, and John D. MacDonald. If you like one of these authors and haven't discovered one of the other two, man, do yourself a favor and check them out. I also like interesting books about the real world, including Nassim Taleb's Black Swan, Jared Diamond's Collapse, and Freakonomics.

Shows -- Doctor Who, Sherlock (anything Steven Moffat consistently blows my mind), Top Gear, Daily Show, Real Time, No Reservations, A Cook's Tour, An Idiot Abroad, Planet Earth, Blue Planet. I like shows about people traveling the world and eating crazy tasty things.

Music --
Underground hiphop (Viro the Virus, Reef the Lost Cauze, Cradle Orchestra, Richie Cunning, Society of Invisibles)
Japanese jazz/hiphop fusion (Nujabes, Kondor, Blazo, Incise, DJ Okawari)
Blues (John Lee Hooker, Koerner, Ray, and Glover, "Spider" John Koerner)
Trance (Astral Projection, Armin Van Buuren)
Post-rock (Emancipator, This Will Destroy You, Rinoa, Jóhann Jóhannsson (Fordlandia is a fantastic album))

Food -- Indian, Thai, Korean, Japanese
The six things I could never do without
Kindle, laptop, and a backpack. I travel light -- as long as I've got books and music I'm happy.

Shockingly enough, I never liked coffee until I moved to Costa Rica. Now I'm addicted.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My plan for the next few years and how the decisions I make now impact the rest of my life. Where I want to live eventually.
On a typical Friday night I am
Clicking buttons on the internet or bemoaning the lack of a social scene in rural Japan.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Sometimes while wearing my watch I bring my left arm up near my ear so that I can hear the mechanical ticking. It's very soothing.
You should message me if
you enjoy things such as going out and getting some beers, going on interesting adventures in and around the Nagoya area, or if you're just looking to chill! I'm mostly looking to meet new people in Nagoya -- I've been in a relatively isolated part of Costa Rica for a few years and one of the things I miss the most is the company of people who speak English as a primary language!

You have recommendations about travelling - Countries, places in countries, anything like that. The world's neat.
More