Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


47 Boston, MA Woman


I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 46–53
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 4:26am
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
Mostly vegetarian
Graduated from masters program
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Relationship Type
Has a kid

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I am starting a new chapter in my life and am interested in meeting kindred spirits. I am very left-leaning and aware of social injustices of all kinds. I have a tendency to work too much, think too much, worry too much. I am happiest when I am able to work less and play more--who isn't? My workload is intense. I love my work (teaching) but I am an exploited part time professor so, despite my "advanced degrees," I make very little per wages and have no health benefits. My favorite life moments include: riding my old bike around town, walking in the woods, sitting on the beach or having a glass of wine or tea on my patio while surrounded by birds and flowers and the sun, doing hatha yoga, reading poetry, writing in my journal, reading a good book--my favorite genre at the moment: funny hip feminist memoirs. I also love going to the local farmers market, watching an offbeat film, talking with friends, listening to music (esp jazz), and playing with my aging dog and cat. This past summer, I bought a kayak, and I fell in love--kayaking is so peaceful and magical. I spend a lot of time alone: INFP! :) I don't like materialism, pretentiousness, elitism, racism, classism, sexism, homophobia, etc. I am not good at playing "the game." Depending upon your perspective, I am either courageous or a royal pain--if I am moved to act per justice. According to OK Cupid, my best matches are on the east or west coasts.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Teaching, working on growth, learning and practicing yoga, starting a new chapter in my life; not sure how I want that chapter to look--but open, working on letting go, deconstructing--
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Thinking sociologically, listening, generating a lot of ideas, worrying, creating a warm and inviting space with little resources, self-doubt, teaching, helping others, self-reflection and self-awareness, being sensitive, waking others up to what is "really going on," dreaming, writing letters of protest. ;)
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I present as open, enthusiastic, energetic, kind and friendly, but I am more introverted than I appear.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Feminist books, poetry, memoir, sociology/psychology texts. I have tons and tons of books in my house and they are organized like a bookstore or library. I have a sociology section, a psychology section, a women's studies section, a poetry section, a memoir/journal section, a history/criminal "justice" section, an art section, a section on race, a section on health/holistic health....shall I go on? My whole house is books! And music, but at least I managed to put the music in cabinets. :) I have a big jazz collection.
Rarely watch TV--students make jokes about my lack of awareness per pop culture. If I do manage to sit in front of the TV (very, very rare, I can go years without it) Colbert, Stewart, and sometimes; the weather channel to monitor a looming blizzard. Maybe the food network channel but that does not last long. I do like Strangers with Candy and Curb your Enthusiasm, but that is about it with me and TV. TV does not hold my attention and I often am mortified and alienated by the mainstream media.
I listen to: jazz, blues, female vocalists, NPR, local college radio station.
Favorite things to eat and drink: cheap red wine, trying new kinds of beer, chai tea, lemon/ginger tea, sushi, hummus, salad, feta cheese (actually, any kind of cheese, unfortunately!), artichokes, apples, squash, olives--shall I go on? Some of my favorite types of food: Mexican, Indian, Thai, Middle Eastern--I love eating and trying new foods. I also am working on creating the time to make healthy dishes that are interesting at home. In the summer, I grow a variety of herbs and like to include those herbs in my cooking experiments.
My all time favorite movie: Antonia's Line--A Dutch feminist film.
I like to research movies online and then order them from the local library--I can rent them "free." However, I have been working so much I don't have time to do that much. I like experimental films, artsy films, documentary, "foreign" films, some comedy--rarely anything mainstream--it just does not speak to me.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My adult son (I had him young) my laptop (sad), my books, my dog, my cat, yoga, tea, wine, sociology, feminism, the sun, water, people moved to act in the name of justice, my friends, my journal, love, my brain, my legs (walking, biking), kayak, music, ideas.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Peace, social justice, the meaning of life, race/class/gender/sexuality inequalities, labor/work inequalities, "revolution," yoga, group dynamics, how to be a better teacher, ideas, dogma, writing, structural barriers, whether I want a "home of my own" or a radical change including lots of travel--something I have not yet gotten to do much, but want to, art, and self-barriers. How people are socialized to "see," social conditioning. How to reduce class shame and the internalization of oppression. The power structure. How war is an unnecessary social construct, who benefits from the system the way that it is, depression versus oppression, etc.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Grading papers, walking, doing yoga, surfing the net, listening to jazz, drinking wine, eating, cooking, talking on the phone, writing emails or in my journal, reading....
*Of note: A typical Friday changes depending upon the season. I don't do well in the winter months so I stay inside more and struggle more to remain optimistic and active. In the summer, I will be outside on my patio, with a glass of wine, or walking, or on my bike, or out.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have never been on an online dating site before! I am not sure what that means. I am a bit tentative about it, but intrigued.