Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

SporadicSteve

28 M Lyon, France

My Details

Last Online
Apr 4
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 4″ (1.63m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and laughing about it
Sign
Sagittarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
$30,000–$40,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I have just moved to Lyon to start a job at L'INSA, and I am currently looking to get to know some people in the area (who I don't work with!). I did something similar last year when I lived in Paris for a few months and I met a couple of really nice people, so I thought I would try the same.

I am a friendly easy going guy, who laughs a lot (at everything, even things other people don't appreciate!) I am starting to get back into photography, so anyone who wants to share that with me is welcome indeed (I am not very good yet, but practise makes perfect). I want to explore Lyon and get to know as many people as possible.

If you want to help me practise my French (that is listen to my broken French and watch me stare blankly at you as I don't understand what you say =P), I would be really grateful. It would be worth a couple of pints (or equivalent) for sure.
What I’m doing with my life
I am starting a post-doc at L'INSA, where I will be studying the structure of proteins (ask me about it, if you want!). I will be doing that for the next two years at least. In the meantime, I want to be working on my French, need to get way more fluent than I am.
I’m really good at
Science! Chemistry particularly, I completed my doctorate in it last year. I am also good at talking, I can always find something to say or something to talk about. I like to think I am a good cook also, I do make a mean chilli and curry.
The first things people usually notice about me
Hair, maybe tattoo, maybe laugh. I don't really know. Everyone seems to have a different "When I met Steve.." story, I seem to make an impression.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I really love reading. I will pretty much read anything and enjoy it. My favourite genre would probably be fantasy, I love A Song of Fire and Ice (ugh how bad was the wait for the latest book!), and The Malazan Book of the Fallen by Steven Eriksen. I like non-fiction too, I like to read about things I know nothing about.
Oh The Man in the High Castle. This book should be read by everyone. Right now I am really into reading classical literature, there is something in the way they are written which is just appealing. Anna Karenina was a delight to read, so was the Brothers Karamazov

I am not a huge movie person, and I don't think I could say I have a favourite film really. I can like most films I watch though. I prefer dark endings and strange films that don't follow conventional story lines. I hate that films these days are so formulaic you can almost always predict exactly what will happen.

Not a massive TV person either. Here in France I watch terrible soap things so I can listen to French language as practise mostly! I like watching documentaries about things I don't know anything about. And I enjoy sci-fi shows, and some things like House. I would rather read, though.

I love Rock/punk/emo/metal/hardcore/screamo etc. Anything like that. Alexisonfire (and Dallas Green god what a singer) are probably one of my favourites, but I like so so so many bands. I could talk about them for ages most likely.

Foodwise, I will try almost anything. I don't like food that looks like it did when it was alive, which rules out prawns, snails, squid, etc. I love to cook, and I do so fairly successfully. I make delicious chilli.
The six things I could never do without
- A good book
- Friends
- Music
- Being inquisitive
- Tea
- Freedom
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Right now, I spend a lot of time thinking "what is the word for that in French".
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually being tired. Sometimes going to a pub with friends. Sometimes relaxing at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I solve maths problems in my head to help me go to sleep when I have insomnia.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 22–35
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
We can have interesting conversations about things. If you can teach me a new skill. Or if you want to =}.