Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

StarStuff

50 York, PA Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 25–53
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Dec 15
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Scorpio, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Technology
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Married
Relationship Type
Non-monogamous
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), C++ (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Summarizing the "Who am I" question is not possible here. But, I can tell a little about myself even if it feels like a two-minute advertisement. :)

My personal motto is: Learn from the past, look to the future, and act in the present. It captures my intent to not repeat past mistakes, to always remain goal-oriented, and to never lose my grip on the here-and-now.

My interests are varied. I enjoy amusement parks (my inner child screams "Roller coasters rule!"), Renaissance festivals, and games nights with friends. I almost crave conversations requiring depth of thought in addition to playful banter.

With only a few exceptions, I rarely get along with people my own age or older, so my friends tend to be in their late-20s to mid-30s. Because I'm future-focused, I try to keep a sense of youthfulness. OkCupid's matching algorithm bears this out in that most higher-numbered match scores ( > 85%) are with people in their early 30's.

I'm also a polyamorous person. Although I have leanings toward the poly-fidelity variety, I am not a 'Unicorn Hunter'. My primary relationship and marriage is with a wonderful, artsy, music geek -- she is Brunhilde. While we're open to dating together, it is NOT a requirement. As a poly person, I'm open to additional relationships and accept that they can become primary as well. For me, polyamory is not about having more sex partners! I have never desired meaningless passion, preferring to start as friends, allowing intimacy to develop naturally.

I am contemplative, compassionate, and imaginative with a touch of playfulness and kink.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Commuting into Maryland so I can pay my bills by working as a software engineer. Raising my little geeklings to be like their father. :) Otherwise, romancing my partner and the few others who inner my intimate range.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
With modesty aside, I'm really good at problem solving, and not just mathematical problems. I'm usually good at cheering up my friends when they feel down. And, based on comments from those who know, I'm an excellent cuddler.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Beyond the usual "first impression" stuff, most people notice that I'm tolerant and accepting of people's differences. Also, people usually notice I'm aware of the larger world and my place in it.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: The Foundation Trilogy/series, The High Frontier, The Clock of the Long Now, Hamlet on the Holodeck, and The Little Engine That Could (a source of inspiration as a child :). Most recently, I enjoyed reading the The Bowl of Heaven by Gregory Benford and Larry Niven.

Movies: The more “grown-up” ones are Cloud Atlas, Contact, Serendipity (yes, I actually do like it), and the conversation-inspiring The Man From Earth. The animated ones include Shrek, Finding Nemo, Epic, and most recently, Frozen. I also enjoyed the Iron Man, Thor, and Avenger movies.

Shows (assuming the TV variety): Babylon 5 (because it was written and mostly flows as a story), the various Star Trek incarnations, the Stargate variations, Doctor Who, Warehouse 13, Big Bang Theory, and most recently, Sherlock, Continuum, Defiance, and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Music: A wide variety from trance to alternative to new age, but not rap or country.

Food: Home-made french fries (in olive/canola oil) and some type of meat (while taking note of its carbon footprint), with a healthy side of veggies! Although I really like fruits & vegetables, I have to occasionally feed my "inner carnivore" or he gets a little cranky... like a ravenous T-rex!
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Darn... not people or places. So, the 'things' I could never do without are:
1) Sense of self (enlightened self-interest, I hope)
2) Love
3) Friendships
4) Goals
5) Fun, enjoyable food
6) Life, Liberty, & the Pursuit of Happiness.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
People... mostly of the feminine, curvy persuasion :p

I think a lot about how STEM (and, with art, STEAM) education can inspire successive generations to create/build/transform civilization. And how I can help.

I'm not always serious minded. Sometimes, I think about what it would be like to put voice-activated robotic arms under a conference table. Then, during a sprint planning meeting, when someone uses the word 'innovate' for the umpteenth time, I could shout: “Release the Kraken!”
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Although it could be a 'date night', Friday night is usually reserved as "Sci-fi Night" for me and my kids, and any friends who want to attend. It's sort of a ritual for me as I've been doing it since before the “Channel formerly known as the Sci-Fi Channel” did it. You can find me usually watching a science fiction (or fantasy) movie or episodes.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I can be a lot of fun in private settings. ;)

And, not that I'm saying that I am a Time Lord, but it should be noted that the Doctor and I have never been seen in the same location at the same time. Something to be pondered, indeed!
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
If you're polyamorous or poly-friendly, like geeky guys who have a romantic side, and enjoy thoughtful conversations, you're what I seek. Feel free to write.

In particular, contact me if you:
* Want to go to a festival, a park, the aquarium, science center, museum, etc.
* Want to have weekend Babylon 5 marathons (or other older series).
* Want to co-create STEM/STEAM education materials.
* Can help develop social models in an attempt to create a real-world psychohistory.
* Can help me write the (potentially open-source) software to simulate those social models.

And I'm provisionally “all yours” if you:
* Have a few million dollars and want to support some innovative R&D efforts without demanding controlling interest over what is mine.
* Are the quirky redhead, with purple highlights, from the future who came back in time to give me the winning lottery numbers.