Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

StevieBNYC

50 M Brooklyn, NY

My Details

Last Online
Today – 5:56am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Libra
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Management
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
New Englander, dyed-in-the-wool Eastern Seaboarder, inveterate urbanite. I recently decamped from Manhattan to Brooklyn, and am really enjoying the contrast, if not the slightly longer commute. Miss the old Village nabe, but it's been fun to explore the many interesting enclaves in the County of Kings. Also enjoy getting out of town some weekends, for cultural events, hiking, skiing, flyfishing, and visiting friends and their families beyond the city limits. Looking for a fellow urban explorer.
What I’m doing with my life
I've worked in the private sector in a range of functional roles, primarily in the investment management and management consulting industries, which I've generally enjoyed. Prior to grad school, I worked in Wash, DC as a Democratic aide/speechwriter on Capitol Hill (not surprisingly, I still follow, and enjoy discussing, politics and current affairs).
I’m really good at
Have been told I'm a pretty good listener and fluent conversationalist (it's true, I confess). Adept at chatting up strangers. NYT crossword (though Saturday's can be a pain in the arse), programming weekends out of town (esp. if it involves dining at quaint pub or inn), political discussions, juggling multiple books. In recent years, I've gotten fairly interested in food and cooking - have this absurdly aspirational cookbook collection - don't ask...if you have even a modicum of interest in cooking, that would be great.
The first things people usually notice about me
Fairly upbeat personality, maybe? Sometimes people tell me I look like a news reader or a politician - but is that a compliment?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Old Europe, Angkor Wat, Berlin, Tokyo, the Edinburgh Festival, Woody Allen's, Spike Lee's and Wong Kar Wai's oeuvres. Foreign and indie films. Read a fair amount, esp. current affairs, history and psychology, but also enjoy fiction like Stegner, Roth, Franzen, and Marquez. Just finished Patti Smith's Memoir, Just Kids, which I enjoyed. Hope to get to Knausgaard, Chabon, Munro or Diaz next. What else...enjoy theatre, both plays (esp. Stoppard, Guare, Albee, and Churchill) and classic musicals (my grandfather was a Broadway composer and musician). MoMA, BAM, Half King bar, book readings, Village Vanguard, flyfishing in the Catskills, hiking and culture in the Berkshires and Litchfield County. The Great American Songbook, The Times, the New Yorker, the Atlantic, NPR. Former amateur drummer and pretty omnivorous music person - Pandora (sorry to be so 2011) stations range from Duke Ellington to the Smiths, the Elvises (Presley and Costello) to the Velvet Underground, depends on the mood. Also Beatles, the Doors, Radiohead, Miles, Coltrane and Mingus, the list goes on.

Enjoy playing tennis at Prospect Park courts, and watching it at the US Open. Middling squash player and ice skater. Better cross-country and downhill skier. Other faves: the Strand (any used book store, in fact), dim sum and the bakeries in Chinatown, pretty much anything with truffles or truffle oil.
The six things I could never do without
Hope about the future
Companionship/trusted friends
Traveling
Music (would be fun to compare desert island selections)
The assumption one gets wiser with age
Something to read on the subway
Indian, Middle Eastern and Japanese food
+ some good 'ol home cookin'
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Decisions past and pending. The components of a good life. Social justice. Upcoming exhibits, plays or performances I want to check out. What intriguing recipe to try next. Where to travel next. That I've been remiss in not volunteering more.
On a typical Friday night I am
Varies quite a bit. Perhaps grabbing dinner and maybe a flick, play or live music with friends. Sometimes driving to mountains or out to the East End. Home reading a book. In nice weather, I enjoy unwinding from the week by hitting the Park for 3-4 loops on my bike.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 42–47
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
You're at all inclined to...as noted above, I enjoy meeting all kinds of people, and am confident we'll find something in common.