Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


31 Edinburgh, UK Man


I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 19–35
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex

My details

Last online
Jun 16, 2013
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body type
Mostly anything
Atheism, but not too serious about it
Graduated from Ph.D program
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
English (Fluently), French (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
So what makes someone interesting? Incurable curiosity, a dose of adventurousness, and a dash of spontaneity.

I like outdoors sorts of adventures - walking, climbing, canoeing, camping, that sort of thing - but you can find adventures just as easily in London, or anywhere, if you're willing to discover new places, talk to people, and do stuff on a whim. It's always the things you didn't plan that make the best stories afterwards.

I finished a PhD in English a couple of years ago, so it's probably not surprising that I like to read, and that I go to the theatre as often as I can. Likewise, I enjoy going to galleries and exhibitions. I'm now a researcher working on environmental sustainability, a subject that is important for me. In the past I've enjoyed writing and making short films, something I'd like to go back to.

I love good food and wine - I'm a really keen cook, and I enjoy cooking for friends. I like lots of sports, and I keep myself in good shape - I'll try my hand at anything, but skiing is a real passion of mine.

I like music: to listen to it, play it, and dance to it. I don't go clubbing as much as I used to (drum and bass was my thing!), but I do like to dance - salsa, techno, swing, dnb, ceilidh, hip-hop - I'll give any of them a good go.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm a post-doc researcher on environmental issues. I'm especially interested in how arts and culture engage with sustainability, which means I get to go to the theatre and galleries and call it work (well, sort of).

I also write, in various different forms, and I'd like to get back to making films.

Other than that, what I'm doing with my life is mostly trying to have fun.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Conversations and arguing (in a good way!), skiing, cooking, thinking...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I always have a stack of books all on the go at the same time, some for work and some for fun. Currently: Pynchon, David Mitchell, Murikami, Atwood and a weird utopia from 1872 called Erewhon.

I'm a bit of a film buff and like to go the cinema often. Too many favourites to list.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
In general I'm more into people, places and experiences than things. But my desert island objects: a good casserole pot, a pack of cards (true fact, I was briefly a professional magician), walking boots, complete Shakespeare (I think you get that anyway, right?)...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
My job means I spend a lot of time thinking about environmental stuff - but that's fine, because I would do that anyway. Otherwise, I'm probably thinking about what to cook and what bottle of wine to open...
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Who knows? Cooking for friends, at the theatre, or planning the weekend's escape? Playing pool, on the train somewhere, or at a whisky tasting? At the cinema, in a tent, in a pub? There's no 'typical'...
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
I'm looking for someone lively and intelligent, who can hold down a conversation on anything (or at least have a stab!). Someone who liked good food and the outdoors would be a bonus, but a sense of adventure is a must.