Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

SynecdocheBC

34 M Ottawa, Ontario, CA

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and laughing about it
Sign
Scorpio, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
$40,000–$50,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I got a name, and I got a song,
and I couldn't care if I'm playing it wrong.

- Joel Plaskett, "Drifters Raus"
What I’m doing with my life
Employment wise, I'm an editor. Grammar and I are, not "is," like peas and carrots. My job is mobile, so it allows me to do a lot of moving around, as long as I have the occasional run-in with WiFi. Recently I've been travelling non-stop to places like Australia, New Zealand, Europe, the U.S., and points in between. It's been terrific, but I'm hoping to slow things down a bit before long (but just a bit - the travel bug bites deep).
I’m really good at
I write words occasionally, usually non-fiction and poetry. Songs, too. I play a couple of instruments. I edit an online literary magazine that publishes Canadian writing monthly. Lately I've been getting more into photography and trying not to lose lens caps. I'm always on the hunt for new projects that will keep me creatively satisfied. If you can be really good at loving all things art-related, that would go in here.
The first things people usually notice about me
I don't know if it's the first thing, but it bears mentioning that I invested in braces last year, and they are working like a charm.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I'm a longtime fan of Douglas Coupland and other Canadian writers. These days I prefer scoping out used book stores and picking up something that seems relatable. I've been making time to actually read the Beat authors rather than just pretend I've read them.

I adore movies. I'll watch absolutely anything and love going to the theatre. "My Dinner with Andre," "It's a Wonderful Life," and "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" are among my favourites, but the list is so long it's ridiculous. I also really enjoy checking out locations where certain films or TV shows were shot. That's my kind of field trip. Show wise, I watch "Girls," "Veep," "Louie," "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia," "The Mindy Project" and "Saturday Night Live" pretty regularly. There's a ton of stuff I haven't seen that I'm just waiting for an excuse to marathon.

I'm into CBC Radio 3. Mother Mother, Hannah Georgas, Said the Whale (Vancouver produces almost as much terrific musical talent as it does rain), Death Cab For Cutie (or anything Ben Gibbard touches, really), Elbow, Matthew Good, Buck 65, Wilco, Beastie Boys, Beck. I also love dancing, especially if it involves Northern soul or Brit pop. I've held on to a stereo for years because I'll always want to be able to make compilation tapes. Compilation tapes are important.

And I'm always open to trying new foods. Food is delicious. Hooray for food!
The six things I could never do without
1) Chocolate.
2) Walking and hiking. I seem to have a lot of directions-related conversations with people that end with me saying, "Enh, I'll just walk it."
3) Google Street View. One of these days I want to plan a trip around this website: http://www.mapcrunch.com If you've never seen that site before, you're welcome. See you in a couple of hours.
4) Bad puns. Really notoriously awful ones.
5) Movie matinees. Preferably combined with pancakes, in some fashion.
6) That scene in "Ghost World" where Enid listens to "Devil Got My Woman" by Skip James on vinyl. It's on YouTube, right here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hI5OMFCG1t4 You should check it out. I'll wait.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where I'm going next, where I'm coming from, where I'm at right now. What I've gone and done with my sunglasses.
On a typical Friday night I am
Having a pint, dancing, catching a show, hanging at a friend's, waiting for a train, trying to ignore a loud snorer in the next room/bunk, getting some writing/thinking done. When it comes to stuff to do, I'm way easy to please. Five bucks and good conversation.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 26–40
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You're into guys without tiger selfies.

(Are those seriously a thing?)