Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


57 New York, NY Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 32-58
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Online now!
Native American, White
Relationship Type
6' 1" (1.85m)
Body Type
Atheism and laughing about it
Post grad
Doesn’t have kids
Has cats
English, German (Fluently), French (Somewhat), Norwegian (Somewhat)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a college professor who lives on the UWS and teaches in Queens. My teaching and scholarship combine an interest in modernist aesthetics, politics, and the visual arts.

I'm returning from a five-month stint at my summer house on the Isle of Lewis in the Western Isles of Scotland so I'm very excited to plunge back into the life and culture of NYC!

I'm single (amicably divorced, no kids), physically active and fit, financially secure, politically progressive and a feminist. I'm on OKCupid looking to meet someone special. To go on adventures, both near and far. Ultimately, I'm looking to partner up for the long haul.

BTW: my handle comes from the fact that as a child I had a pet lioness named Tanga (along with raccoons, a skunk, a monkey, and rabbits as well as cats and dogs). I was Tanga's person.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
--teaching and writing about modern German art and aesthetic theory
--herding cats, er, grad students
--translating Nietzsche
--curating an art exhibition in Norway: a link to my show:
--renovating my old stone house in the Outer Hebrides
--riding my bike around the city/or around South Lochs
--swimming for fitness
--going to live music shows. In the past year I've seen Cults, Foxygen, Neko Case, Kurt Vile, Fountains of Wayne, Neutral Milk Hotel, Spires, Tennis, Woods, Quilt, Slow Club, Elephant Stone, Best Coast, Deer Tick, Waxahatchee, The Allah-Las, The Replacements, The Orwells, The Dardys, The Dodos, The Waterboys, Freedy Johnston, Tennis, Belle and Sebastian, and Neko again!
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
--starting fires
--handling a boat
--spotting seals and otters in Loch Odhairn
--sleuthing around in archives
--foraging, fishing, and cooking for friends and family
--literally anything that involves hand-eye coordination
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I've frequently been told that I'm "native looking," wch is an allusion to my Ojibwe/Chippewa heritage
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
--I really like British (especially the Romantic poets, Victorian novelists, and modernist geniuses like D.H. Lawrence) and German literature (Goethe, Stefan George, Nietzsche, Rilke, Thomas Mann), Roberto Bolaño, Patricia Highsmith, detective fiction, history and non-fiction prose, investigative journalism (The New Yorker, NPR, The Atlantic, etc.). Currently under the spell of Karl Ove Knausgaard's magnum opus, Min Kamp (My Struggle).
--live music (indie rock--especially surf pop and music coming out of Glasgow--by very new bands/singer-songwriters)
--Tee Vee (vintage Buffy, Strangers with Candy, Arrested Development, House of Cards, Louis C.K., VEEP, Mister Show, The Americans, The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, The Thick of It, the BBC Sherlock, Daredevil, Stewart and Colbert, Better Call Saul, Peep Show)
--movies (art films as well as schlock, especially Hitchcock, Polanski, von Trier, Anderson, Herzog, Fritz Lang, Billy Wilder)
--art, especially Rembrandt's "The Polish Rider" at the Frick and the Unicorn Tapestries at the Cloisters.
--food and drink: I love discovering dive bars and great unpretentious restaurants (Asian food is a favorite) and excellent beer and wine, espresso, single malts

I generally like anything provocative, intelligent, and whimsical.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
--ping pong table
--iPhone for music
--my uke
--my wee red boat
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
--the ocean/sky/mountains
--sea creatures, house/big cats, canines, feral ponies and horses, raptors, highland cows, black-faced sheep
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
--if I'm in NYC I prefer to avoid the tourists on Fridays by staying home, ordering in, and watching something on Netflix

--if I'm at my place on the Isle of Lewis and the weather is good I might go for a bike ride in the amazing countryside and then have a drink while gazing at the sea and the hills
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
--You're a combination of some of the following qualities: funny, independent, quirky, adventurous, kind, empathic, nerdy, affectionate
--You understand and accept how creative people do their work
--You like spending time in beautiful, natural places