Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


40 F Kelowna, British Columbia, CA

My Details

Last Online
Jan 5
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Mostly other
Catholicism, and laughing about it
Graduated from Ph.D program
Relationship Status
Relationship Type
Doesn’t have kids
English, French (Okay), Korean (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Hi there,

So I've been in Kelowna just over a year. I'm here on contract and should find out by December whether I have a permanent gig. The new job is intense, but great. I'd love to explore other sides of being in Kelowna besides work!

I read and write a lot and tend to like close friends rather than hordes of acquaintances (power of the introvert!) - though through work I do have hordes of acquaintances. I have been making more time to go out with friends, get to the gym, learn guitar, cook and catch up on movie watching. I love people who are kind, energetic, smart and who like to talk about politics and media and culture. Would you like to do brunch, a coffee, a local event, or a walk? I am looking for excuses to get out and explore my new area.

For what it's worth, folks still think I'm in my twenties when they meet me in person. I still get carded, pretty regularly, when I buy a bottle of wine.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm in Kelowna for sure until June. I defended my PhD in the spring and will graduate in November. Went on a two-month cross-country journey on a recent gig. I have been going to physio to build back strength after some running strain injuries - it has been a while since being able to run - but I have been back at it since the summer. Making new friends. Learning about the Okanagan area. Going to lit events. Writing other stuff. I started going to some life drawing classes recently and turns out I'm not bad!
I’m really good at
speaking to small groups, listening, putting ideas into words, getting excited about rocks (like jasper, guy!), learning, putting on the glam now and then, talking while drinking red wine and eating snacks, teaching, being me
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Bookes: The Sun Also Rises, Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, Buddha of Suburbia, Handmaid's Tale, The Catcher in the Rye, To The Lighthouse, Writing Down the Bones, The Hero Within, Seven Habits of Highly Effective People, David Byrne's Arboretum, Hafiz, Plath, Anne Carson, Christopher Dewdney, Shakespeare

Filmes: Gladiator, Antonia's Line, Princess Bride, Temple Grandin, Elizabeth, Butterfly and the Diving Bell, Adaptation, Blowup, Chinatown, Monty Python and the Holy Grail, Interiors

Foodes: When someone else is cooking or cooking for friends, I'm a big foodie and will eat almost anything. I love adventurous flavours and textures coming together. More plainly, though: paella, kale, pizza, avocados, chocolate in baked form, saag paneer and butter chicken. When I cook for myself, I eat pretty simply. Update: I've been eating a lot cleaner lately - no-sugar, no-wheat vegan as the ideal, and everything else in more moderation than I used to do. Green smoothies rock.
The six things I could never do without
Beyond food, water, light, and shelter?
1. Physical health.
2. Meaningful human interaction - friends, family.
3. Solitude.
4. Outdoor time.
5. Authenticity.
6. Goals
On a typical Friday night I am
Could be yoga, or the gym and the pool; could be out with friends for dinner; could decide to do a work night if work is going well. Often a friend will be putting an event on.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Why take all the fun out of getting to know me?
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 33–47
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You'd like to start a conversation.